DeviceNet Adapter Questions

No income tax, no capital gains tax. Freedom!
I see few posts about DeviceNet. Is it because it works without problems or nobody is using it? I need a DeviceNet PCMCIA card or a USB to DeviceNet converter or a Ethernet to DeviceNet converter. Does anyone have any recommendations? Must I have a Rockwell DeviceNet master to program Rockwell PLCs over DeviceNet or will others do?

If you goto http://www.odva.org you can find a listing of devicenet products, AB makes a pcmcia card as do others. I have used RSNetworx with a system that was all AB and it was fairly simple. I have been involved in 3 systems using devicenet, 2 AB and 1 Horner. I do not know of any problems with any of the systems and it DEFINITELY makes the wiring easier.

Peter, Since you mention ethernet, I assume you are using control logix. You wont need any card or adaptor. Just plug into the ethernet network, fire up the RSNetworx for DNet software and you are away. Regards Alan Case

Most people that I have ran into that use DeviceNet are not big fans. Those that have used both Profibus and DeviceNet say they would choose Profibus most any day over DeviceNet for ease of use in setting up and maintaining the network.

I personally have never set up a DeviceNet network, this is just what people have said to me about it. I did troubleshoot a Profibus netowrk yesterday without knowing much of anything about the software or the network and found the problem within a reasonable amount of time.

rsdoran said:
I have been involved in 3 systems using devicenet, 2 AB and 1 Horner.

How was the Horner system's support for devicenet and its performance?
I will certainly get the AB stuff as I think 80% of our customers will be using AB, Omron and Eaton will probably make up the rest.

What devicenet master did you used to talk to the AB stuff?

This must be DeviceNet

icky812 said: