You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 13th, 2018, 02:37 AM   #1
Big_Robo
Supporting Member
United Kingdom

Big_Robo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: England
Posts: 44
RS232 to USB with Tia Portal Modules.

Hi everyone.

I have been doing some reading and getting mixed results.

Here is my question. I have a RS232 module on my PLC. I want to connect that to a program running on a PC threw a USB adapter. Signals will be send and receive is it possible or am I wasting my time.

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2018, 02:43 AM   #2
Manglemender
Member
United Kingdom

Manglemender is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1,095
I did some RS232 interface work in TIA last year and it seems to work OK once I turned off the flow control. The PC end will need a serial to usb adaptor and as far as the PLC is concerned it just speaks RS232.

What do you actually need to achieve?

Nick
  Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2018, 02:47 AM   #3
Big_Robo
Supporting Member
United Kingdom

Big_Robo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: England
Posts: 44
Hi Nick thanks for the reply.

Yeah pc has a usb to series adapter. The PC has a program that send job codes and scale weight to the PLC. I have migrated an old S7 classic program so all nessary blocks are there just it doesn't seem to want to play ball.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2018, 03:58 AM   #4
Manglemender
Member
United Kingdom

Manglemender is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1,095
RS232 only describes the hardware. You will need to know what data is transferred and by what protocol. i.e. what message is sent, what should be done with it and what response is expected. I used a terminal emulator program that allowed forwarding one port to another on my laptop to help get things setup but I can't remember what program that was.

Nick

I think the program I used was Termite: https://www.compuphase.com/software_termite.htm

Last edited by Manglemender; June 13th, 2018 at 04:01 AM. Reason: additional info
  Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2018, 07:52 AM   #5
Big_Robo
Supporting Member
United Kingdom

Big_Robo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: England
Posts: 44
Hi Nick. Sorry about the vague answer. I am using Freeport to send and receive ASCii strings. These strings are read in the PLC and does the required function e.g. ZERO (that would set scales to zero)

I will have a look at that software later. Thankyou
  Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2018, 10:21 AM   #6
Manglemender
Member
United Kingdom

Manglemender is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1,095
I'm not familiar with Freeport but if all it does is send out ASCII strings then it should be doable.

There will be a set of function blocks provided by Siemens that go with your chosen hardware that handle port initialisation, send data, recieve data etc. There is likely to be a demo program on the Siemens website for your chosen hardware.

To make my system work I programmed a state sequence that first handled initialisation and then cycled through a sequence. yours might be something like:

Initialise port
Wait for new data
Read data
Decode instruction
clear buffer
Send response
Go to wait for new data

I than wrote two routines in SCL to handle the ASCII message creation and decode.

Nick
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TIA PORTAL can't be linked to S7-314C- 2DP, via MPI mourad69 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 September 17th, 2016 03:34 PM
TIA PORTAL can't be linked to S7-314C- 2DP, via MPI mourad69 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 September 15th, 2016 09:54 AM
Step7 Classic or TIA Portal v13? Manglemender LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 July 31st, 2015 08:56 AM
TIA Portal hardware catalog in relation to F-DI / F-DO modules kobelu_090 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 July 27th, 2015 10:38 AM
Will USB to RS232 Converter work?? ECSI LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 26 March 17th, 2004 01:22 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 PM.


.