OT: eCommerce options

harryting

Lifetime Supporting Member
To start off with, this has nothing to do with my day job. I'm trying to help out some folks I know who runs a martial arts studio. Due to the ever increasing rents around ($4000/mo) here they asked me if I know much about eCommerce since I'm a "computer guy". They want to import some martial art supplies and sell online to help support the school. They also have connection in China that can supply them with high quality martial art stuff (I have seen them and they are very high quality).

I know there are some here who run their own online store so I'm seeking out advice. what are some of the pitfall to watch out for? I also know that this might not even fly since I think the folks I deal with have a very naive notion of what running a e-business is like. However, putting all that aside for the moment...

My first thought is start with eBay and/or Amazon since they don't require one to do a website and I have some experience selling on eBay. Advertising will be an issue they the stuff they have are quite a bit pricier than the typical low cost stuff that Amazon/eBay carries but I think they can do a link from the school's website.

Thoughts?

I was on the road yesterday... its hard to reply on a phone :rolleyes:

I would do ebay first, they are the cheapest on fee's if they have a good record and good feedback it helps, you dont need to be the 'cheapest' if you have a good product and you stand behind your products customers will by from you... also most of the time you dont want the customer that is looking for the cheapest product on the market.

If they have a ebay account have them use that and not start a new one... they need feedback, I have about 15k positives and no negative so when people buy from me they know if there is a issue I will work with them to resolve it