Latching a contact

cue2671

Hello, I am a student working on a college final and I need to latch a N.O. contact closed for 5 seconds and then release. I can not figure it out although it has to be simple. Your advice would be appreciated

I just need to latch the contact for 5 seconds only.
I understand that, but first you have to know how to latch it forever.
Can you draw the ladder rung that will make a normally open contact latch, and remain latched?

yes, there will be a n.o. contact with a branch around it and a n.o. contact on the branch. the no contact on the branch will have the same address as the output energize on the end of the rung. I do not know how to draw on this.

would I use a off delay timer?. So, does the contact that needs to energized have the same address as the timer?

Im sorry for asking but..

This is for a final? I didnt think college was in session til August? Is it a summer class? If so, and you cant do this by final time I would suggest asking for a refund? Am I wrong?

The timer will have its own address. Usually T1 or T2.

You have the timer turn on with the output contact. Put a normally closed contact with the timers address in series with the contact and the output. When you close the first contact, start, the output energizes, seals in and holds its self on. the timer starts and times for 5 seconds then it opens its contact turning the output off. It will remain off until the input is once again started.

Personally I'd stay away from off delay timer.
Just have an output input start a timer in the first rung.
now on the next rung ---| |--- there should be a bit like T4:0/tt.
Now on the right side of this rung just energize ---( )--- your output.
If you have to use a latch, I guess you can add another rung to unlatch the bit when the timer is done.
Hope this is helping.

Last edited:
Small steps, George. Small steps. He will learn more this way...

cue2671 said: