S5 STL Help......please

Peter_d

Hi all

I am new here and this is my first post. If I am honest, necessity drove me to find this site, however I have to say that after having a good look around the place this is a really well put together site.

Ok, to cut to the chase, I have a problem which I would appreciate any help whatsoever with:

Almost all my PLC programming experience has been with AB PLC5 and SLC 500 PLC's (over 10 years). As such I am fairly well versed in ladder programming. However, I now find myself with a bit of a dilemma.....

I have been landed with a Siemens S5 115U programme to modify. Now, I have got a hold of a demo copy of some software (S5/S7 for Windows from www.softwaretoolbox.com) which has allowed me to have a browse around the programme. Now can you imagine my horror when most of the significant programme sections that I need to understand can not be displayed in ladder, only statement!

I have no experience with STL programming, however using the S5 reference manual I can pick out the basics and convert it to ladder.

Now, I am thinking that trying to convert the statement to ladder is perhaps not the best approach to be taking when trying to understand this programme. I think I really should be making the effort to understand the STL at firsthand, if you know what I mean....

Can anyone point me in the direction of perhaps something I can download which will give me some tuition in making the transition from ladder to STL?

An example of my dilemma is as follows:

A(
A F 250.0
A F 250.1
A F 254.0
O F 250.2
)
A F 253.7
AN F 250.7
S F 251.3
A F 251.3
= F 254.6
O F 251.1
ON F 253.7
R F 251.3
NOP 0

In the above STL code I can understand it fine up until the lines:

S F 251.3
A F 251.3
= F 254.6
O F 251.1
ON F 253.7
R F 251.3
NOP 0

From my bungled attempts to translate this in to ladder logic I seem to end up with a set instruction followed in series by a N.O. contact and then a coil?? Obviously some confusion on my part!