Micro8xx CIP communication (to a PC?)

XEMON

Hello,

I am very new to PLC programing, I am able to program very basic system (stand alone machines) and HMI, but that about it ...

I now need to be able to have my machine able to communicate with the master/plant PLC system. This would be simple alarm code, maybe status code and maybe a few Boolean.
We currently send the variable monitoring over analog output (4-20mA) but i would like to just send it over through the same protocol.

From doing some digging, it seams like CIP would be the best way to go.
We mostly use Micro820 and 850 which have a ethernet port. The HMI usually goes over serial, so we always have a spare ethernet port available.

So far so good ....

I went through the A&B "Getting Started with CIP Client Messaging". This is where my questions start ...

In theory, it makes sense: I have a function block (MSG_CIP...?) sending a variable out with specific communication instruction (explicit) or pre-agreed instruction (symbolic) and the other PLC have a function block to receive this variable.
I assume at this point the receiving PLC "assimilate" the transmitted variable and we can use the received value as a local variable?
From my understanding this is done with MSG_CIP... function block on both ends?
And the setup values need to match?

I would love to be able to test this with my PLC, but i only have 1 PLC.
Is there a way to use a computer to send and receive CIP message to test the code on the PLC?

Any guidance, tip and help would greatly help me wrap my head around this.

Also, it seams we can also send entire arrays, so i could eventually see having a custom array for the status of the system and send it over every x seconds for monitoring/logging. but this is way down the road ...

Thanks on advance for all your help,
X

Thanks for the quick reply.

I downloaded the python code and watched a few of the linked videos, i dont know anything about Python ... it looks very intimidating.