FC vs FB, DB

mico207

I have a real problem to understand the difference between: FB & FC. HELPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP đź““

I REALLY NEED URGENT HELP (YES/NO answers will help also) ...

i'm a beginner in siemens 300/400 & i came from computer programming background and i made some simple applications on the S7-200.

Now, what i know / & what i'm confused about????
  1. FC does not have memory / FB has memory -> DB? Confusions:
    1. FC has inputs & outputs - why?
    2. what are the cases that it makes me use the FC's I/O
    3. can i assign "Q's/PLC outputs" to the FC outputs?
    4. if YES then if the FC call is conditioned, that means if the conditon is not fulfilled the Q-output will turn to ZERO - Yes/No?
  2. FB has memory and i can assign different DB's to it, e.g. motor control. fine that what i always read... Confusions:
    1. Does the DB works as a Memory Variable or to be more specific & clearer to me does it work as a Memory-Bit SET/RESET?
    2. if YES (in conditioned FB) means: if i assign an output-Q to an FB output and it was not called in another read-cycle => the output-Q will still be ON (ONE) - Yes/No?
    3. if NO then if a used a STAT variable within a DB, will it hold the values?
  3. does anyone really have this motor control - as an example project.
  4. if i make a code and i'm not sure of it, how can i try it without a real PLC (same like RUN is other programming languages)
  5. WHAT IS THE REAL DIFFERENCE BETWEEN FB & FC IN TERMS OF USES, please give example. in other words how can decide for this operation i definatly need an FC or FB ????
THANKS FOR YOUR HELP,

Confused Person :)

Last edited:
  1. FC does not have memory / FB has memory -> DB? Confusions: