You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 2nd, 2016, 09:13 AM   #1
chainsaw2272
Member
United States

chainsaw2272 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: joliet
Posts: 11
Thumbs up New Laptop Time what to get

I would like to get some input from you experienced programmers as to what to look for in a new laptop used only for AB 5,500,5000, and factory talk software.We are locked in to Dell but generic info helps too.
Thanks Mike
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2016, 09:49 AM   #2
harryting
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

harryting is offline
 
harryting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 1,604
If you a search for "laptop", a ton of threads comes up.

I would get something with at least 3 USB port, 15 or 17 inch screen, SSD, Hi-Cap battery, and 8GB+ ram.

A lot of people including me like the Lenovo T series. I think the current Dell equal is the Latitude 5000 series.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2016, 09:53 AM   #3
nhatsen
Member
Venezuela

nhatsen is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 622
Here you have several threads about laptops:

Best laptop w/ windows 7 pro
http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthr...ghlight=laptop

2016 Best Laptop for VMware
http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthr...ghlight=laptop

Laptop Advice
http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthr...ghlight=laptop

Laptop with built-in RS232 serialport
http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthr...ghlight=laptop

Laptop for plc and engineering programming
http://www.plctalk.com/qanda/showthread.php?t=89657

New Laptop
http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthr...ghlight=laptop

New laptop
http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthr...ghlight=laptop
__________________
"If you can't solve a problem, then there is an easier problem you can solve: find it." (George Pólya)
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2016, 10:36 AM   #4
Paully's5.0
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Paully's5.0 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: WI
Posts: 1,935
If you are locked into Dell, the Preciesion 5000 series or XPS.

512 SDD minimum, 16 GB ram minimim, stay away from the 4k displays, stick with 1080p as some programs don't scale properly.
__________________
"Comments should be like a mini-skirt... long enough to cover the essentials but short enough to keep your interest." - Uptown47
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2016, 12:01 PM   #5
jkerekes
Member
United States

jkerekes is offline
 
jkerekes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,122
MacBook Pro
__________________
John
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2016, 12:06 PM   #6
JeremyM
Member
United States

JeremyM is offline
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkerekes View Post
MacBook Pro
I love mine. I think they have the best combination of performance, battery life, portability, and price versus similarly spec'd Windows machines. Not to mention support. I also use VMWare Fusion to run Rockwell software so as to be able to migrate the virtual machine whenever I upgrade, without requiring a total software reinstall.

Lenovo with a high-resolution display would be my choice of PC. Dell are hit-or-miss.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2016, 04:07 PM   #7
NetNathan
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

NetNathan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 1,236
Dell Precision
__________________
****Control Freak****
Net is where I be and Nathan is me.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2016, 04:37 PM   #8
SandwichMagic
Member
United States

SandwichMagic is offline
 
SandwichMagic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Central California
Posts: 82
I don't know what kind of PLC hardware you are working with, but for a lot of the stuff we use, I specially request that we have a real serial port on it. That way you don't have to hassle with a USB to Serial converter or anything like that. Other than that, the other suggestions given previously work great. While I don't have anything with ssd's at work, my personal computer has the OS running on an SSD, and I can attest to the power. Nothing like being able to do a full restart from desktop to desktop in <12 seconds.
__________________
Thanks,

Conor

"It's the smartest people who are the first to realize that there is always more to learn"

"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice, but in practice there is a difference." - Dahnuguy

If you see something wrong in my post, feel free to let me know I'm wrong, no hard feelings, I promise!
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2016, 06:41 PM   #9
Peter Nachtwey
Member
United States

Peter Nachtwey is offline
 
Peter Nachtwey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Vancouver, WA, US
Posts: 6,553
That is what I bought

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkerekes View Post
MacBook Pro
It runs a long time on battery and has a more rugged aluminum case. I use Fusion ( VMWare ) to run WinXP VM. I can switch back and forth between OS X and Win XP with a swipe.

However, there is no direct Ethernet connection. The MacBook Pro assumes it will always be connected using wireless. Not a big deal. It has worked for me so far.
__________________
"Living is easy with eyes closed, misunderstanding all you see...." Strawberry Fields Forever, John Lennon
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2016, 07:35 PM   #10
danw
Member
United States

danw is offline
 
danw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: midwest, USA
Posts: 2,673
I was a guinea pig for a Lenovo laptop T430 2 years ago.

It has the longest lasting battery ever, even after 2 years of 6 day a week use, it still runs well over 2 hours on battery.

But I can't stand that it has no numerical keypad, which means I that cannot enter extended ASCII characters using Alt + numerical code, or Ctrl +Alt + numerical code for Dell style 'numbers superimposed over alpha keys", as shown below, with the numerical keys in blue



I typically use extended characters like
241 ± (plus minus)
248 ° (degrees)

I use those characters extensively and without the numerical keypad I have to find, select and copy them from Windows' character map rather than typing them by the numerical codes.

I just got a replacement Dell laptop that can do extended ASCII with its numerical keypad.

Dan
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2016, 08:24 PM   #11
DwSoFt
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

DwSoFt is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandwichMagic View Post
I don't know what kind of PLC hardware you are working with, but for a lot of the stuff we use, I specially request that we have a real serial port on it. That way you don't have to hassle with a USB to Serial converter or anything like that. Other than that, the other suggestions given previously work great. While I don't have anything with ssd's at work, my personal computer has the OS running on an SSD, and I can attest to the power. Nothing like being able to do a full restart from desktop to desktop in <12 seconds.
I used to thing a real serial ort was a must but I now have a good USB serial converter from www.plccable.com and haven't looked back


As for laptops I run 5 different VMS and my current dell has been lagging ( when running any vm) so I was looking at a new Dell. Ayers have treated me poorly and dell's good so I will stick with them most likely. I'm going to look at the links posted in here though.
My current lagging setup has 8gb of ram but no solid state drive and also dual core and the clock speed is lower. It did its job when I bought it and I will keep it for a spare. But my needs have increased. Lol
__________________
Dan Wiebe
-----------------
Automation Manager
Phoenix Energy Services
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2016, 09:26 PM   #12
hunker
Member
United States

hunker is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Dell XPS 15
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2016, 09:27 PM   #13
hunker
Member
United States

hunker is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 4
I think this will help you make your decision http://pc4u.org/best-laptop-for-vide...photo-editing/
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2016, 09:39 PM   #14
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,316
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Nachtwey View Post
It runs a long time on battery and has a more rugged aluminum case. I use Fusion ( VMWare ) to run WinXP VM. I can switch back and forth between OS X and Win XP with a swipe.

However, there is no direct Ethernet connection. The MacBook Pro assumes it will always be connected using wireless. Not a big deal. It has worked for me so far.
I use a MacBook Pro - all you need is a thunderbolt to ethernet adaptor and it runs like a built-in ethernet port without any issues.

+1 for VMWare Fusion too - beautifully stable and fast.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2016, 10:09 PM   #15
JeremyM
Member
United States

JeremyM is offline
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASF View Post
I use a MacBook Pro - all you need is a thunderbolt to ethernet adaptor and it runs like a built-in ethernet port without any issues.

+1 for VMWare Fusion too - beautifully stable and fast.
I own a pair of these. You can use them as separate network interfaces (across different networks, too) or even team them using LACP.

Really handy when you would like your VM traffic separated.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinCC 7.0 PLC Time Sync erdemsvri LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 February 22nd, 2011 07:00 AM
Pvp 600 Alarm Time Stamp 69FIREBIRD LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 October 9th, 2006 10:28 PM
Electronics Questions peavey_wolfgang_2000 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 May 23rd, 2005 08:05 PM
How AB Timers work. PhilipW LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 January 28th, 2005 02:47 PM
Connecting TD200 and Laptop at the same time Rocco LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 May 31st, 2004 03:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 PM.


.