You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 11th, 2018, 01:30 AM   #1
XtremeIN
Member
United States

XtremeIN is offline
 
XtremeIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 217
Do-More and EtherNet/IP

Hello all,
I am working on a project the requires a Do-More H2-DM1E and an IFM AL1020 (https://www.ifm.com/mounting/7391037UK.pdf) to communicate via ethernet/ip. I have browsed several manuals, watched videos, and searched the web and this forum. I am at a loss. If my understanding is correct I need to use the EIPMSG command and that the Path fields need to match the IO block in order for communication to occur. I do not understand how to read and use the charts for the Class, Instance, and Attribute. any sort of help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Micheal
  Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2018, 07:19 AM   #2
gclshortt
Member
Canada

gclshortt is offline
 
gclshortt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Cobourg
Posts: 2,490
What you are probably looking for is EtherNet/IP Explicit Client / Server communications.
Chapter 18 EtherNet/IP™ object classes, messages and services - In your manual listed above. This will be for the Server (Slave).
The following video will show setup of the Client (Master). PLC
https://www.automationdirect.com/vid...ay=p3K3WbX406E

Regards,
__________________
Garry
http://www.accautomation.ca
Connect with us on Facebook: facebook.com/accautomation/
  Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2018, 09:43 AM   #3
XtremeIN
Member
United States

XtremeIN is offline
 
XtremeIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 217
Thanks Gary!
I had some time this morning to do some testing. I got the comma working and I can request and receive data. If I use class 1, instance 1, and attribute 1, I get 322 which is the vendor ID, which is correct. But I can not figure out what values to use to get a digital reading from a pressure transducer on port 1.............
  Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2018, 11:19 PM   #4
XtremeIN
Member
United States

XtremeIN is offline
 
XtremeIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 217
After about an hour of testing I was unable to get anything other than some basic data from the IO block. A quick call to IFM and they confirm are that the Do-More series of processors is not comparable with the IO block. Their recommendation for a budget setup was the Automation Direct P2K or the P3K and a different IO block (I don’t have my notes, I think it was the AY1122).
  Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2018, 10:15 AM   #5
gclshortt
Member
Canada

gclshortt is offline
 
gclshortt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Cobourg
Posts: 2,490
Automation Direct also has a P1K (Productivity 1000 Series) that uses the same software as the P2K and P3K.
The cost of the P1K is similar to a Click.

Regards,
__________________
Garry
http://www.accautomation.ca
Connect with us on Facebook: facebook.com/accautomation/
  Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2018, 06:20 PM   #6
Cow
Member
United States

Cow is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eastern Oregon
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by XtremeIN View Post
After about an hour of testing I was unable to get anything other than some basic data from the IO block. A quick call to IFM and they confirm are that the Do-More series of processors is not comparable with the IO block. Their recommendation for a budget setup was the Automation Direct P2K or the P3K and a different IO block (I don’t have my notes, I think it was the AY1122).
Have you tried posting this on Host Engineerings forum?

You'll be talking directly with the designers and engineers that created the Do-More.

They are also on the Automation Direct forum regularly too.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2018, 10:50 AM   #7
XtremeIN
Member
United States

XtremeIN is offline
 
XtremeIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 217
The engineer from IFM said they have tested and have documentation on intergtating their IO Link block with the P2K and P3K, he did not mention compatibility with the P1K. I know nothing about the P series. Going with their recommendation.

The project manager has been in contact with someone at Facts and he simply referred us to section 18 of the manual.

Thanks everyone for the suggestions!
  Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2018, 05:11 AM   #8
gclshortt
Member
Canada

gclshortt is offline
 
gclshortt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Cobourg
Posts: 2,490
+1 Cow
Host Engineering Forum.
http://forum.hosteng.com/
__________________
Garry
http://www.accautomation.ca
Connect with us on Facebook: facebook.com/accautomation/
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RSLinx Ethernet/IP driver on a VLAN ccamp LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 April 30th, 2013 11:19 AM
Can MicroLogix 1400 communicate with EtherNet/IP adapter? Clark0325 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 April 2nd, 2012 04:27 AM
Modbus Master not polling the Modbus Slave through an EtherNet/IP Connection mihiri LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 July 15th, 2010 02:41 AM
ControlLogix 5000 EtherNet/IP Mystery VoltSmith LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 January 14th, 2010 07:12 AM
Eaton SVX9000 VFDs and RSLinx Ethernet/IP Issues MCB LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 June 21st, 2009 02:27 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 AM.


.