You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 27th, 2018, 03:02 PM   #1
iggy
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

iggy is offline
 
iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 175
compactlogix version

I have been asked to help out for an emergency on a machine that I have no information what so ever. My question is they know it has a compactlogix that is all, without knowing the model number how can I figure out what version the controller is. I have no idea if they have a program I can have to try and open or if i will have to upload it. Sorry for the little information any help appreciated.
__________________
I was doing some PLC Programming on my laptop while waiting on my grandmother to get ready to go out to lunch. She says she is ready, I tell her to hold on a sec I have to find a couple of bits, she reaches into her purse and pulls out a quarter for me.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2018, 03:20 PM   #2
Ron Beaufort
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Ron Beaufort is offline
 
Ron Beaufort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,471
can either you - or they - "see" the controller/processor in RSLinx? ...

if RSLinx can "see" the controller/processor then right-click on it - and select "Properties" ... that should show you the Revision number of RSLogix/Studio 5000 that you'll need ...

you might also try having them do a Windows search of their computers for any files which have an extension of .ACD ...
__________________

2-B ?
Best regards, ----+----] [----+------------( )----
Ron | |
PLC Training Boot Camp - Retired | 2-B |
+----]/[----+

I once was lost, but now am found, was blind, but now I see.

  Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2018, 03:25 PM   #3
Maxkling
Member
United States

Maxkling is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 201
If the controller has Ethernet you/they may be able to go to the embedded webpage by using its IP address in a web browser. That may provide the firmware revision.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2018, 03:36 PM   #4
iggy
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

iggy is offline
 
iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 175
ahh yes didnt think about that, thank you very much for the responces.
__________________
I was doing some PLC Programming on my laptop while waiting on my grandmother to get ready to go out to lunch. She says she is ready, I tell her to hold on a sec I have to find a couple of bits, she reaches into her purse and pulls out a quarter for me.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Allen-Bradley L1 Processor... rdrast LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 12 September 17th, 2013 01:44 AM
RSLogix Version 20 and RSLinx 3.6 mdemmer LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 September 6th, 2013 01:32 PM
RSLogix 5000 skipping version 19 OkiePC LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 February 21st, 2013 07:19 AM
RS Logix 5000 Convert version 17 to 15 jvalle LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 July 24th, 2009 01:31 PM
rsview32, using newer version of works editor with older version of runtime diat150 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 February 11th, 2008 01:27 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.


.