You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 6th, 2017, 01:04 PM   #1
theColonel26
Member
United States

theColonel26 is offline
 
theColonel26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Michigan
Posts: 27
Auto Switch Schematic Symbol

I would like to know if anyone knows of a proper schematics symbol to use for a 3 wire magnetic auto switch. This is the kind of switch you would use on a pneumatic cylinder to detect position.

I have used a standard prox sensor symbol in the past but I was wondering if there is something better.

Standard Prox Symbol below
Attached Images
File Type: png CTRLS-SB-BEN 2017-11-06 13-00-09.png (716 Bytes, 84 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2017, 02:59 PM   #2
James Mcquade
Member
United States

James Mcquade is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 2,089
that's what I have been using for years.

james
  Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2017, 03:05 PM   #3
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 9,627
I agree with James. To indicate that it is magnet operated, some people put a C shaped magnet symbol above it. I am more inclined to include that info in the description and use the standard prox switch symbol.


I think this one is IEC and yours is JIC, but I didn't find a JIC version with the magnet in a quick google search:
http://www.electrical-symbols.com/im...ity-magnet.png
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2017, 06:47 PM   #4
dogleg43
Member
United States

dogleg43 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 278
Like all of the previous replies, I agree that symbol is foe a prox switch. I’m not sure what you mean by using the word “auto” though.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Estop Pull Cord Schematic Symbol Tim Ganz LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 August 26th, 2014 08:15 AM
Redundant supply auto switch over Karsten LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 November 7th, 2013 05:50 PM
Looking for a strategy to decelerate a hydraulic cylinder Tubularfab LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 56 February 8th, 2012 05:22 PM
OMEGA 50 CNC Switch IPSIBilly LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 July 3rd, 2007 10:22 PM
Machine Guarding - Deadman Switch khurley LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 January 31st, 2007 06:54 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 PM.


.