You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 5th, 2017, 02:01 PM   #1
saultgeorge
Supporting Member
Canada

saultgeorge is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Windsor
Posts: 50
Power-up Handler RS 5000

Hey folks. I created a routine in the power up handler folder in the controller in a 1769-L30ER. I wanted to have the controller go through a start sequence after a POWER LOSS. That is, controller has lost incoming power.
When I downloaded the program with that additional change plus others, the controller faulted, something to do with the power up routine. I cleared the fault and it runs fine.
Was this just because I DIDN'T lose power, so to speak, just did a download? In other words, is this normal?
The power up routine is it's own routine with it's own program tags. A-B said not to assign the routine in a task. There are, however, a couple of bits that are in the main task such as alarm reset and start.
Any help is always appreciated and thanks in advance. (I'm not sure how to include the logic on this post)
__________________
Oakland County:HOME of Automation Alley
  Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2017, 03:36 PM   #2
hoy7t
Member
United States

hoy7t is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SC
Posts: 83
you need to be more specific about the fault ....
  Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2017, 11:04 PM   #3
MATT116
Member
United States

MATT116 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 323
Been awhile but I think you need to clear the faults with the power up routine.
Pretty sure there’s a sample program in the samples folder showing how to do this.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2017, 11:10 PM   #4
MATT116
Member
United States

MATT116 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 323
From AB KB 22379

The power up handler in a Logix controller has one of two purposes. It can prevent the processor from returning to RUN mode if power has been lost and restored in run mode. It can also be used to run ladder in the power-up routine to take a specific power-up action. The routine must also specifically clear the power-up fault that is generated by having a power-up routine if a fault is not desired. On power-up, the following major fault will be generated if there is a power up routine defined and it does not clear the fault:

Type 01, Code 01, Power-up Fault, Power lost and restored in RUN mode.
If the fault is not desired, there are two options:

Remove the power up program
Handle the fault in the power up program as described in the common procedures manual
  Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2017, 11:07 AM   #5
saultgeorge
Supporting Member
Canada

saultgeorge is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Windsor
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by MATT116 View Post
From AB KB 22379

The power up handler in a Logix controller has one of two purposes. It can prevent the processor from returning to RUN mode if power has been lost and restored in run mode. It can also be used to run ladder in the power-up routine to take a specific power-up action. The routine must also specifically clear the power-up fault that is generated by having a power-up routine if a fault is not desired. On power-up, the following major fault will be generated if there is a power up routine defined and it does not clear the fault:

Type 01, Code 01, Power-up Fault, Power lost and restored in RUN mode.
If the fault is not desired, there are two options:

Remove the power up program
Handle the fault in the power up program as described in the common procedures manual
OK Thanks. I'll look at that manual and see how to do that.
Thanks to all.
__________________
Oakland County:HOME of Automation Alley
  Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2017, 11:08 AM   #6
saultgeorge
Supporting Member
Canada

saultgeorge is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Windsor
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by MATT116 View Post
Been awhile but I think you need to clear the faults with the power up routine.
Pretty sure there’s a sample program in the samples folder showing how to do this.
Thanks. I'll look at the samples also.
__________________
Oakland County:HOME of Automation Alley
  Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2017, 11:09 AM   #7
saultgeorge
Supporting Member
Canada

saultgeorge is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Windsor
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoy7t View Post
you need to be more specific about the fault ....
Well, I should have made a note of it. It cleared, so I thought it was normal. I appreciate your help.
__________________
Oakland County:HOME of Automation Alley
  Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2017, 11:12 AM   #8
MATT116
Member
United States

MATT116 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 323
AB Sample power up routine code attached.

Note: To delete the Power-Up Handler Program, go to Controller Properties > Advanced and set the Power-Up Handler to <none>.
Example Ladder:
Download (Power_Up_Routine.zip) file and extract the Example Ladder (Power_Up_Routine.L5X)(see File Attachments below)
RSLogix 5000
Power-Up Handler
New Program... 'Power_Up_Program'
New Routine... 'Power_Up_Routine'
Import Rung... browse to the example file (Power_Up_Routine.L5X)
Perform Tests;
Cycle Power in Run Mode with code Inactive
Cycle Power in Run Mode with code Active
Observe differences
Attached Files
File Type: zip Power_Up_Routine.zip (932 Bytes, 0 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2017, 01:29 PM   #9
saultgeorge
Supporting Member
Canada

saultgeorge is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Windsor
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by MATT116 View Post
AB Sample power up routine code attached.

Note: To delete the Power-Up Handler Program, go to Controller Properties > Advanced and set the Power-Up Handler to <none>.
Example Ladder:
Download (Power_Up_Routine.zip) file and extract the Example Ladder (Power_Up_Routine.L5X)(see File Attachments below)
RSLogix 5000
Power-Up Handler
New Program... 'Power_Up_Program'
New Routine... 'Power_Up_Routine'
Import Rung... browse to the example file (Power_Up_Routine.L5X)
Perform Tests;
Cycle Power in Run Mode with code Inactive
Cycle Power in Run Mode with code Active
Observe differences
Thank you. I've found a lot of that in the common procedures manual. I'm almost ready to test it. Y'all have been a great help.
__________________
Oakland County:HOME of Automation Alley
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Translating MicroLogix 1500 ( RS Logix 500 ) to CompactLogix 1769-L18 (RS Logix 5000) Rob S. LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 May 31st, 2016 10:17 AM
RS Logix 5000 Jim G. LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 January 14th, 2016 04:09 PM
how to talk ifix 4.0 scada with rs logix 5000 programming software viaemulation5000 venkatesh s.k LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 June 21st, 2010 11:19 PM
rs logix 5000 alex_cordova LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 February 9th, 2010 09:59 AM
Resetting Digital Input module automatically from RS Logix 5000 hasan_ali LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 October 1st, 2009 05:39 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 AM.


.