You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!

plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.

Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!

Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Old December 8th, 2017, 01:28 PM   #1
PLBoudette
United States

AB Micro850 communications issues

I'm trying to connect to a AB Micro 850 controller and am having issues. This is my first time trying to program one. I plugged in a USB cable to the USB port but nothing happened. It's my understanding that a "Found New Hardware" box should appear to install the drivers. I tried all my other USB ports but still nothing. Then I got another USB cable and tried that with all of the USB ports. Still nothing. I tried using a null modem cable with a 1761-CBL-PM02 cable in the serial port, setting up a DF1 driver but still nothing. Finally I connected a crossover cable to the ethernet port, set up my PC static IP to 169.254.100.200 with subnet 255.255.0.0 (as advised per another help thread) and scanned with the ethernet/IP driver. Nothing. And not only nothing, I don't even get the green link LED to come on when there is a good link connection. Am I still doing something wrong? Or did I just get a bad controller? The power light is green and the FAULT and MS lights are flashing red, which I assume is a fault because there is no program loaded. All help is appreciated. Thanks.
Old December 8th, 2017, 01:58 PM   #2
A_G
United States