You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 12th, 2017, 09:13 AM   #1
trueninjalo
Member
United States

trueninjalo is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 19
Controlnet PF-40P Drives

Hello staff,
I have a drive network of 16 Power Flex 40P drives on control net and 8 PF525 on ethernet ring. Maintenance states one of the 40P drives (node 10) failed. After replacing the drive, the next drive in line (node 11) failed. After replacing that one, the next one (node 12) failed. Has anyone seen this before? This is the information passed to me and I am sitting here thinking the drives may be functional but there is possibly something with the network that's causing the failures. A couple weeks ago I had to rename some drives and rescheduled the network as we added an Ethernet group of drives in the middle of the conveyor line. The lines have been running well until last night.

Thanks in advance,
Anthony
  Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2017, 11:10 AM   #2
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 13,618
>we added an Ethernet group of drives in the middle of the conveyor line.

How exactly did you configure those in the I/O tree of the controller ? The network interface must be in the chassis with the CPU (1756 ControlLogix) or integrated with the CPU (CompactLogix).

This will work:

Controller -> ControlNet Bridge Module -> ControlNet -> Drive.

And this will work:

Controller -> EtherNet/IP Bridge Module -> Ethernet -> Drive

But this will only work by coincidence or until the buffers get interrupted:

Controller -> ControlNet Bridge Module -> ControlNet -> ControlNet Bridge Module -> EtherNet/IP Bridge Module -> Ethernet -> Drive
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
7 powerflex 700 drives on controlnet, 1 drive runs faster than other Jasondelane LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 October 3rd, 2016 02:12 PM
Controlnet Cabling Joel201 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 November 15th, 2013 07:40 AM
Remote IO via ControlNet in Logix5000 TimD LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 October 6th, 2010 01:19 PM
ControlNet & Controllogic to GV3000/SE Drives WebRanger LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 February 26th, 2007 10:58 AM
ControlNet Crash - Anyone had this happen before? jtn LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 May 5th, 2006 07:01 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 PM.


.