You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 14th, 2017, 04:41 PM   #1
remullis
Member
United States

remullis is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 136
factory talk activation expired

I have an ex employee laptop which has rslogix 5000 software and it has the factory talk expired. When I try to look up the activation it does not show in the directory. Would rockwell be able to tell me what this is? I generally remote in to a computer that has RSlogix where I access PLC programs and such. I need this laptop to communicate with a standalone machine which uses a compact logix brick. I just want to pull the programs off of this machine.

To explain my dilemma a little further. We went through a downturn so I am back in the saddle, but with no IT support etc. I am having a hard time finding the license locations of logix software along with WW etc.

Any other way around the activation?
  Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2017, 05:06 PM   #2
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,293
> it has the factory talk expired.

In general that means that it was a temporary activation, most likely a Toolkit subscription.

Or, since it doesn't show up in the FactoryTalk Activation Manager as a *.LIC file on the computer, it may have been activated by an Activation Server that has a permanent or annual license activation.

Search thoroughly on your computer for *.LIC text files. On my PC, they're in the path

C:\Users\Public\Documents\Rockwell Automation\Activations

In general, your local distributor can help you unravel what the licenses sold to and maintained by your company are, and help get you set up with the appropriate licenses.

When RSLogix 5000 is freshly installed (or activated by being connected to a network with a license server), it will then run for a week in "grace period" mode while it's disconnected from the server.
__________________
- "Simpler is better, except when complicated looks really cool."
  Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2018, 05:55 PM   #3
Nomographer
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Nomographer is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 15
If you open the FactoryTalk Activation Manager, select the Advanced tag, then the File Access category, you will see a button labeled "View Diagnostics". This will open a viewer that shows specifically (USB dongle, license server, grace period, etc...) how the product was activated in the past.

Until you get things resolved with Rockwell, you could run with the one-week grace period on a different computer from a refresh installation, assuming you can find the installation files. Unfortunately, to obtain replacement installation files from the Rockwell Automation site, you would need to know your customer account logon information as well as the serial number and product key that came with your original RSLogix 5000 purchase. Might as well add those to your list of things to track down.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2018, 06:13 PM   #4
thingstodo
Member
Canada

thingstodo is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Saskatoon
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by remullis View Post
I need this laptop to communicate with a standalone machine which uses a compact logix brick. I just want to pull the programs off of this machine.
The first question has been addressed by @Ken Roach and @Nomographer

The second question ...

If all you want are the programs, the .acd files should be in C:\RSLogix 5000\Projects if the software was installed with default settings

A search of C drive for *.acd should show you the PLC programs if they are not in the default directory. [or C:\Studio 5000\Projects ] From there you can copy to a network or USB stick and load onto another computer with working licensing to view the programs

Last edited by thingstodo; January 9th, 2018 at 06:15 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2018, 06:38 PM   #5
NetNathan
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

NetNathan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 1,480
In regards to WW software licenses...
Search for *.LIC.
It may be archestra.lic or wwsuite.lic.
You can open in WW License viewer (or notepad) to see version and if it is development or runtime license.
__________________
****Control Freak****
Net is where I be and Nathan is me.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Factory Talk Activation Tool WillM LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 December 22nd, 2015 08:10 AM
factory talk activation manager can not start jugenzhu1963 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 January 29th, 2015 10:58 AM
Factory Talk Activation MARC 2014 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 February 14th, 2014 08:20 PM
Problem with RSLinx Factory Talk Activation Coulombboy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 September 22nd, 2012 04:29 AM
Factory talk activation RSLogix500, PanelBuilder gbradley LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 September 18th, 2007 09:27 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 PM.


.