You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!

plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!

Go Back - Interactive Q & A > - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 16th, 2015, 06:21 AM   #1
United Kingdom

cjd1965 is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,530
Powerflex 525 Ethernet IP control

I have a powerflex 525 on my desk and a clx plc and have foolowed the AB quickstart procedure

I have added the powerflex and can see it from logix and can create and reset alarms so comms is up

in the quick start it says to set parameter 46 and 47 to Ethernet IP

If I set FreqCommand to 150000 and set Start to 1 nothing happens.

The drive is NOT in fault

Any ideas how to get the drive to go into run
  Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2015, 07:45 AM   #2
United States

Plastic is offline
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 234
150000 seems out of range.

Try entering 6000 for 60.00 hz output frequency

Even though you have intent to run from Ethernet/IP, you still need to jumper Dig Input terminals #1 to #11

The 525 is a Safe-Off drive. On your desk you will need to jumper S+ to S1 and S2.

If you are using the embedded Ethernet port then your settings for command are Ethernet/IP, if you are using the DLR option card, (also Ethernet/IP), you have to set 46 and 47 to aux cummunication
  Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2015, 08:10 AM   #3
United Kingdom

cjd1965 is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,530
Hi Plastic
That worked ..the link was missing. The speed ref is straight from the AB quick start but I changed it to 2500 (25Hz) and that is what I got.....

Any tips for connecting a thermistor ?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2018, 10:13 PM   #4

Boxy is offline
Boxy's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 54

We use external thermistor relays and wire it to a terminal (generally Term3 or 5) and set that as an Aux Fault input.

To use a PF525 with a thermistor directly is terrible.
Essentially you set the voltage input up to drive an output and then use the output to drive a dig input set as Aux Fault.
But to use the voltage input you need resistor and set up a voltage divider.
Waste of time.
  Reply With Quote
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AB PowerFlex 525 + Ethernet AgustinR LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 March 10th, 2015 10:49 AM
Powerflex 525 Control Module jayare12 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 January 23rd, 2015 11:41 AM
Powerflex 525 Detecting Loss of ethernet connection DAnderson LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 December 29th, 2014 12:30 PM
Ethernet Ip Sensors The Plc Kid LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 October 16th, 2009 12:05 PM
IP Addressing and Control Logix gizmo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 February 11th, 2003 09:06 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 PM.