You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 27th, 2017, 07:23 PM   #1
cirtcele
Member
United States

cirtcele is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 63
Connect wireless laptop to a Compactlogix network

I have a very simple wired network using a L32E processor, panelview plus, HP switch and my laptop. I would like advice on what hardware is needed to connect my laptop wireless instead of plugging in the ethernet cable every time.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2017, 07:45 PM   #2
Paully's5.0
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Paully's5.0 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: WI
Posts: 2,043
Simple wireless access point is all you need. You could also use a router as well, they usually have an "access point" mode, or you just have to turn of DHCP. Not much different then wireless at home.

HOWEVER, security is extremely important if this production equipment.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2017, 01:16 PM   #3
cirtcele
Member
United States

cirtcele is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 63
I was hoping something as simple as a netgear g54 router might work. Any other suggestions or advice on potential problems using this setup?
  Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2017, 02:26 PM   #4
jacoffey85
Member
United States

jacoffey85 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: NC
Posts: 68
I use this when traveling around to different customers:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00TQEX8BO..._t1_B00634PLTW

I can hook it into the machine network and it has standard WPS encryption I believe. If you're wanting something to permanently leave hooked up, you might look at something with a little more security.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Add Remote IO with Devicenet SicknoteX LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 April 15th, 2016 04:11 PM
Wireless PLC Network allenz2123 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 October 29th, 2014 10:23 PM
connect to micrologix through compactlogix Ewayut LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 May 27th, 2014 06:44 PM
How do I Connect DH485 Industrial Network to Local Area Network wiwie LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 June 7th, 2011 10:46 PM
Connect laptop > ML1000 problem Martindag LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 October 1st, 2009 08:58 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 AM.


.