You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 28th, 2017, 02:46 PM   #1
phuz
Member
United States

phuz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 766
PLC5 messaging through Ethernet sidecar

I understand that the sidecars don't support CIP, so I don't think I can initiate a message from the CLX in this case. (I tried PLC5 Typed Read and got Error processing connection related service)

I attempted to create the message in the PLC5 and write to the ControlLogix, using multihop. My first hop is to the ENBT, second hop is the processor slot in CLX backplane, yet I am getting a D3 error for "you formatted the control block incorrectly." I've done many, many messages between CLX and PLC5, but it's either been with a 5/80E or DH+. I believe I'm missing something.
I set up a PLC5 tag map in the CLX, too.
File 24 goes to tag N24. PLC5 message reads from N24:0 and writes to N24:0.

Last edited by phuz; December 28th, 2017 at 02:54 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2017, 02:54 PM   #2
RonJohn
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

RonJohn is offline
 
RonJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 429
First thought off the top of my head is that I believe you need to use TWO contiguous MG registers when messaging over Ethernet in a PLC5. When we converted a PLC5 to CLX a while back, I recall reading this in a technote or some other A-B document.

Also, did you "map PLC/SLC Messages" in the CLX program? This is found under the Logic toolbar in RSLogix5000 and converts Logix tags into data table registers that can be understood by the PLC.

Edit: Just saw that you did this already.

Last edited by RonJohn; December 28th, 2017 at 02:59 PM. Reason: added last paragraph
  Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2017, 08:19 AM   #3
kekrahulik
Member
United States

kekrahulik is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lancaster,pa
Posts: 277
Not sure if I totally understand your issues but...

PLC5's don't do CIP, but they can communicate over Ethernet.

Anytime I have to establish communication between a CLX and PLC5, I use message (MSG) instructions IN THE CLX (both read and write). It's not my preferred way, because I would rather use message reads in each program so you can xref where data comes from - but one of the things I've accepted as we transition from the PLC5 world to the CLX world.

I don't think you can MSG from a PLC5 to a CLX (ie use MSG instruction within the PLC5), but others may prove me wrong.

FYI If you use a MSG read in the CLX:
1. PLC5 Typed Read with the PLC5 source, number of elements, and Destination source(CLX Tag)

2. communication tab:
--> Path: CLX_Ethernet_Card, 2, 10.44.52.81
--> Method: CIP

in my path is the name of my Ethernet card in my CLX IO tree, 2, The IP address of the PLC5 Ethernet sidecar

Last edited by kekrahulik; December 29th, 2017 at 08:25 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2017, 08:21 AM   #4
phuz
Member
United States

phuz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 766
Quote:
Originally Posted by kekrahulik View Post
Not sure if I totally understand your issues but...

PLC5's don't do CIP, but they can communicate over Ethernet.

Anytime I have to establish communication between a CLX and PLC5, I use message (MSG) instructions IN THE CLX (both read and write). It's not my preferred way, because I would rather use message reads in each program so you can xref where data comes from - but one of the things I've accepted as we transition from the PLC5 world to the CLX world.

I don't think you can MSG from a PLC5 to a CLX (ie use MSG instruction within the PLC5), but others may prove me wrong.
MSG reads are always preferred, and like I said, I have done tons of messages from CLX to PLC5 over Ethernet, but it's always been on a 5/80E directly, not through a sidecar.

And yes, you absolutely can message from a PLC5 to a CLX through multihop.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2017, 08:31 AM   #5
kekrahulik
Member
United States

kekrahulik is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lancaster,pa
Posts: 277
Good info on the multihop.

I've used plenty of Ethernet PLC5's and PLC5's with sidecars. I can't say that I've ever had to treat them differently.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2017, 08:45 AM   #6
phuz
Member
United States

phuz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 766
Quote:
Originally Posted by kekrahulik View Post
Good info on the multihop.

I've used plenty of Ethernet PLC5's and PLC5's with sidecars. I can't say that I've ever had to treat them differently.
So you've used a regular MSG instruction (PLC5 typed read), CIP protocol, and path of Local_ENBT,2,<ip of PLC5> ?
  Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2017, 08:48 AM   #7
kekrahulik
Member
United States

kekrahulik is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lancaster,pa
Posts: 277
Yep. Read and Writes from the CLX with that format
  Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2017, 08:51 AM   #8
phuz
Member
United States

phuz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 766
Quote:
Originally Posted by kekrahulik View Post
Yep. Read and Writes from the CLX with that format
OK, so I wonder what the heck is going on with my setup. I switched to DH+ so I could message all the data blocks I wanted, which worked fine, but now I want to know why the ethernet messages aren't going.

I've had this 5/80 on my test bench for a while and have always used DH+ through my CLX gateway, but now that I got the sidecar, it's nicer...except the failing messages.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2017, 09:04 AM   #9
kekrahulik
Member
United States

kekrahulik is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lancaster,pa
Posts: 277
In my youth, I remember a wise electrician telling me that "communications are always the hardest things...people and machines alike"

??? check ethernet settings
??? try messaging a single element

probably not helping you much there
__________________
_______________________________________________

"Get it right the first time" is a great philosophy, but when that doesn't happen, be persistent and "Get it right the last time".
  Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2017, 09:07 AM   #10
phuz
Member
United States

phuz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 766
Quote:
Originally Posted by kekrahulik View Post
In my youth, I remember a wise electrician telling me that "communications are always the hardest things...people and machines alike"

??? check ethernet settings
??? try messaging a single element

probably not helping you much there
Yes, and yes.

Source element is N24:0
Destination is N24[0]
Length of 1, 10...doesn't matter.

The error ends up being unconnected message timeout. Maybe I'll fire up the SLC and see if I can read it from that.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2017, 09:42 AM   #11
phuz
Member
United States

phuz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 766
Well, SLC message read from PLC5 "times out" too.
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture.PNG (24.4 KB, 7 views)
File Type: png Capture2.PNG (17.0 KB, 5 views)

Last edited by phuz; December 29th, 2017 at 09:59 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2017, 09:59 AM   #12
phuz
Member
United States

phuz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 766
It's a Series A sidecar that I have. (if that helps)

I see there used to be firmware kits for download, but Rockwell no longer has them up. Anyone have these floating around?

Think I found my answer:
For a 1785-ENET sidecar to talk over Ethernet to a ControlLogix it must be the following revisions or later:

All Series C
Series B revision A or later
Series A revision E or later.

Last edited by phuz; December 29th, 2017 at 10:08 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2018, 12:07 PM   #13
phuz
Member
United States

phuz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 766
For what it's worth, I thought I'd follow up.
I picked up a 1785-ENET/B (Series E FW J) and ethernet messages now work.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2018, 12:22 PM   #14
Geospark
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Geospark is offline
 
Geospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kildare
Posts: 2,385
Late to the party, again phuz, but here is some info on the issue you've since resolved yourself. It may also prove useful to others in the future...

Quote:
Originally Posted by pjuz
...I am getting a D3 error for "you formatted the control block incorrectly."...
PLC5 Message Error 00D3 or 211: You formatted the control block incorrectly
279646 -
Access Level: TechConnect

Quote:
Originally Posted by phuz
...Think I found my answer:
For a 1785-ENET sidecar to talk over Ethernet to a ControlLogix it must be the following revisions or later:

All Series C
Series B revision A or later
Series A revision E or later...
61405 - Revision needed to communicate over Ethernet between a PLC-5 and a ControlLogix controller
Access Level: Everyone

Regards,
George
__________________
"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men".
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ethernet comms PLC5 SLC5/05 akrafter LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 August 12th, 2016 05:18 PM
PLC5 Messaging to ENBT tyler1 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 October 17th, 2015 12:37 AM
Communication between PLC5 to Logix plataform via Ethernet eleall LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 February 11th, 2010 10:59 AM
Using a RADES9300 and serial ethernet to connect to plc...Works over eth but not dial bdoub1eu LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 July 28th, 2006 08:30 PM
Ethernet PLC5 ser F available now. Contr_Conn LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 March 15th, 2006 12:55 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 PM.


.