You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 25th, 2014, 07:32 AM   #1
Strokur
Member
United States

Strokur is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 62
Exclamation RSLogix 500 (v9.00) and windows 7 Enterprise

Hello all,

I just updated my RSLogix 500 from version 7.00 to Version 9.00. Now when I try to open up RSLogix 500 I get an error that states "RSLogix 500 Development Environment has stopped working".

I've attached a picture (it may or may not be worth much). I was just wondering if anybody else had ran into this issue. I'm still fairly new to RSLogix and am not sure where to start. It does the same with running as admin as well.

If anybody has an insight it would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Phil
Attached Images
File Type: png capture.PNG (77.2 KB, 206 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2014, 09:31 AM   #2
Strokur
Member
United States

Strokur is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 62
After some further digging, I found v 8.30.01 works. It seems V 9.00 would do something to a couple dll's and cause issues during install. Either way it works and I'm not going to upgrade unless it's dire.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2014, 10:26 AM   #3
JohnCalderwood
Member
Scotland

JohnCalderwood is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Stirling
Posts: 542
My laptop has Windows 7 Professional and runs RSLogix 500 V9.00.00 with no problems.

One of the solutions I was given to installation issues was to load the software CD onto the hard drive and install it from there - that cleared issues I had with Logix and Networx.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2014, 11:25 AM   #4
Strokur
Member
United States

Strokur is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 62
Thank you for the response,
I may try it again over the weekend just so I'm not slowed down. There were two issues really that I was running into. The one stated above and the other was either when I uninstalled v 9.00 or was installing one of the earlier builds(7 or 8.30.01). It would come up during installation saying 'RS500.exe was not checked for installation', and even after repairing it would still come back with the same issue. But it's behind me so I'm glad.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2014, 12:12 PM   #5
James Mcquade
Member
United States

James Mcquade is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 2,132
just a thought.

what is your licensing scheme?
Everis or factory talk?

version 9 requires the factory talk activation while ver 8.3 does not.

regards,
james
  Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2014, 12:31 PM   #6
Strokur
Member
United States

Strokur is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 62
FactoryTalk that was one thought I had but support assured me it wasn't the reason. I had to use a license from an old copy since all the others were unavailable. It worked fine once all was said and done, just had to get the product key from the support.

Phil
  Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2014, 01:03 PM   #7
Geospark
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Geospark is offline
 
Geospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kildare
Posts: 2,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Strokur
After some further digging, I found v 8.30.01 works. It seems V 9.00 would do something to a couple dll's and cause issues during install. Either way it works and I'm not going to upgrade unless it's dire.
Is this what you are referring to?...

290477 - RSLogix 500 Development Environment has stopped working
Access Level: TechConnect

..and if so, had you tried the fix?

Regards,
George
__________________
"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men".
  Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2014, 01:38 PM   #8
Strokur
Member
United States

Strokur is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 62
Yes, this fix was not the issue, I tried it to no avail. I don't believe there was one 'Development environment has stopped working' rock not overturned.
I appreciate the responses very much so, I've got our main RA tech coming out Monday for other adventures either way. I will definitely ask him about it.

Phil
  Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2014, 07:00 PM   #9
Thinkster
Member
United States

Thinkster is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 8
Also, make sure your running a 32-bit version of Windows 7. It works much better for us that use both 500 and 5000.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2014, 09:49 AM   #10
iraiam
Member
United States

iraiam is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Right here
Posts: 131
I have had this same issue several times, It took a complete un-install and re-install to get it working again. Now I'm back in the same boat with 500 crashing when I open Linx.

Unfortunately our computers are IT supplied with Windows 7 64 bit, VM will work but I can only remote in through the Host OS for security reasons.

I'm going to try to downgrade versions and see if that will work
  Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2014, 09:32 PM   #11
iraiam
Member
United States

iraiam is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Right here
Posts: 131
I got mine working again, I had to un-install and do a complete re-install of RSlinx, Currently I am on ver 2.59, I had this happen more often with version 3.6.

I don't have any trouble with RSLogix 5 or 5000, but every few weeks 500 crashes with the "RSLogix 500 Development Environment has stopped working". It starts fine but when I go to RSWho it will crash.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2015, 12:31 PM   #12
Angel_Uriel
Member
Mexico

Angel_Uriel is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Veracruz
Posts: 10
RsLogix 500 v9

Excuse me where can i download RsLogix 500 v9?
thank you.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2015, 09:02 PM   #13
mjisaacs
Member
United States

mjisaacs is offline
 
mjisaacs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Morganton, NC
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angel_Uriel View Post
Excuse me where can i download RsLogix 500 v9?
thank you.
https://logon.rockwellautomation.com/opensso/UI/Login?

...as long as you have a contract...
__________________
____________________________________________

If all else fails, then dig the directions out of the trash and read them.

  Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2018, 05:20 PM   #14
rcriceus
Member
United States

rcriceus is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Ashton, IL
Posts: 1
Version 9 has some serious glitches in it. One of the major ones is that if you open a previous version that uses block transfers and then download to your processor, the block transfers will no longer work!!
Skip V9 and go directly to version 10 or higher.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2018, 07:02 PM   #15
harryting
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

harryting is offline
 
harryting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 1,753
Welcome to 2014. I'm still on V9 and didn't realize they have a new version out but our inventory of micro and SLC is getting very tiny.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To Enter Rslogix 5000???? sundar_scada LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 14 April 2nd, 2016 03:50 PM
RSLogix Emulate 500 and Windows 7 64bit OkiePC LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 39 November 4th, 2015 11:47 PM
Rslogix 500 with windows xp mode hcorbie LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 June 26th, 2012 01:46 PM
Rockwell Allen Bradley Programming Software, RSLogix 5, RSLogix 500, RS Linx, RSLogix vvcd LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 21 September 24th, 2009 10:04 PM
RSLogix 5000 V15 Features Samneggs LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 April 20th, 2006 05:45 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 PM.


.