You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 23rd, 2018, 04:26 PM   #1
keshik
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

keshik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 370
Moxa Ethernet Switches

Hello. I'm considering using DIN rail mounted, managed Gigabit Ethernet switches from Moxa (https://www.moxa.com/product/DIN_Rai...t_Switches.htm. Does anyone have any experience or feedback with them?
  Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2018, 04:40 PM   #2
cardosocea
Member
United Kingdom

cardosocea is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Duxford
Posts: 554
Worked with unmanaged switches from them and had only one issue with the fiber ports. The ones we had running had been up and running for about 2 years straight and longer and if we cycled power, one of the fiber ports would die.
This happened to me three times in a row to the point that I wouldn't power one down without a spare in my hand. Apart from that they were solid.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2018, 04:59 PM   #3
keshik
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

keshik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 370
Minor issue for sure?!?

Well, I'm not planning on using any fiber so that's a positive.

Thanks for the comment.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2018, 05:46 PM   #4
cardosocea
Member
United Kingdom

cardosocea is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Duxford
Posts: 554
The switches weren't 2 years old, at least 4 to 5 and had been through some really rough environments (temperatures and humidity) over their life span, so I didn't really take it against Moxa.

Siemens managed switches however were far from this good and failed more often. Sometimes it was the occasional need for a reboot, others the optical ports just died.

The ones I never had to replace were Hirschmann's over the same period of time.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2018, 07:52 PM   #5
rguimond
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

rguimond is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Escuminac
Posts: 637
We installed a six 16-port unmanaged Moxa switches in a refrigerated packaged milk storage facility in 2009. 33-34F at all times. All of them were still functioning when I left the plant a couple months ago.
__________________
"If you can't measure it, you can't manage it!"
  Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2018, 12:56 AM   #6
guydegraeff
Member
South Africa

guydegraeff is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 24
Hi keshik.
I have been using the EDS-408A-EIP 8 port managed units for the last four and a half years and so far none have given me any issues. I use those units for any Ethernet/IP based installation unless a client specifically wants a different brand.
Does Moxa have any support in your area? Even great products fail...
  Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2018, 04:19 AM   #7
tragically1969
Member
United Kingdom

tragically1969 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: uk
Posts: 1,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by keshik View Post
Hello. I'm considering using DIN rail mounted, managed Gigabit Ethernet switches from Moxa (https://www.moxa.com/product/DIN_Rai...t_Switches.htm. Does anyone have any experience or feedback with them?
Been using Moxa for around 6-8 years now, had the odd failure which i think was probably heat related but other than that no issues here.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2018, 05:14 PM   #8
keshik
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

keshik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 370
Nice to see the positive reviews so far. I'm looking at buying some laser stuff from a local distributor and the laser company highly recommends Gigabit Ethernet. Apparently this distributor reps Moxa as well and is what they quoted to me. Surprisingly it is much less expensive than Stratix.

Are there any significant disadvantages to using a non-Stratix switch? This will be going into small facilities where the commonality with Cisco configuration won't be of any real benefit.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2018, 06:13 PM   #9
BlueAltezza
Member
United States

BlueAltezza is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 133
I used the unmanaged Moxa 5, 8, and 16 port units with no issues.
I switched over to Red Lion / Sixnet / N-Tron because it was a cost savings.

No surprise anything costs less than the Stratix parts!
  Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2018, 06:15 PM   #10
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 9,522
For unmanaged switches over the past two years I have used a couple dozen of the Stride unmanaged switches from A/D. I have not tried their gigabit models yet. Zero problems with the 10/100mb units though.

https://www.automationdirect.com/adc...anaged/Gigabit
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2018, 06:15 PM   #11
dwoodlock
Member
United States

dwoodlock is offline
 
dwoodlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 381
Not switches, but we have their data collection boxes that have 16 DIN's each. They are fast, and seem to work pretty well for interfacing with SAP. Spec'd by our German counterpart, and they do the job. No complaints

Was surprised to see mention of them!
  Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2018, 08:09 PM   #12
keshik
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

keshik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueAltezza View Post
I used the unmanaged Moxa 5, 8, and 16 port units with no issues.
I switched over to Red Lion / Sixnet / N-Tron because it was a cost savings.

No surprise anything costs less than the Stratix parts!
The N-Tron was less than the Moxa?
  Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2018, 08:10 PM   #13
keshik
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

keshik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwoodlock View Post
Not switches, but we have their data collection boxes that have 16 DIN's each. They are fast, and seem to work pretty well for interfacing with SAP. Spec'd by our German counterpart, and they do the job. No complaints

Was surprised to see mention of them!
Are you referring to Moxa or a different brand?
  Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2018, 02:07 AM   #14
nightline
Member
Netherlands

nightline is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Prinsenbeek
Posts: 354
We use the EDS-308 and 316 for almost 10 years now plant wide, and never had any issue...
  Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2018, 04:01 AM   #15
cardosocea
Member
United Kingdom

cardosocea is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Duxford
Posts: 554
Quote:
Originally Posted by keshik View Post
Are there any significant disadvantages to using a non-Stratix switch? This will be going into small facilities where the commonality with Cisco configuration won't be of any real benefit.
For unmanaged switches, can't see that there would be... for managed switches integration with RSLogix is already done for you, but for a lot of applications a fault switch wired to the PLC will do the same job too.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Red Lion Ethernet Port Routing Rube LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 December 29th, 2014 03:44 PM
Siemens Ethernet Lean card vs. Ethernet Adaptor uptown47 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 May 21st, 2012 03:49 AM
moxa ethernet I/O or Cellular wireless I/O diat150 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 May 17th, 2011 07:26 AM
Moxa EIP 3270 to SLC Ethernet IP to serial Gateway SCUBA NooB LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 November 30th, 2010 05:01 PM
Ethernet basics in detail surferb LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 February 23rd, 2008 04:11 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 AM.


.