You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 9th, 2018, 02:18 PM   #1
Willlly
Member
United States

Willlly is offline
 
Willlly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 8
4-20mA Output scaling

Hey guys, I have been having a bit of trouble with analog output scaling.
Iím programming out of a compactlogix, Iím trying to output 4-20mA to a valve only using a set point, would an SCP or PID be better for this test station?
It has been while since I actually programmed, trying to get back into it. Any info will help, thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2018, 02:30 PM   #2
rupej
Member
United States

rupej is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: NC
Posts: 273
You are just wanting to send a constant signal to the valve to hold it in a set position, or do you want to control the valve based on an input, such as flow rate?

If you just want to set the valve, you can use an SCP function (would be an add-on-instruction for RSLogix 5000) to scale the output from 0-100 to 4000-20000, or whatever units your output card is set up for. PID would be for controlling the output based on an input.

If you just want to get some signal to the valve, you don't need an SCP at all. Just write a value in the the Local:1.O.Data (Or whatever yours may be) register.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2018, 02:51 PM   #3
Willlly
Member
United States

Willlly is offline
 
Willlly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 8
Yes, I wasn't sure if I needed a SCP. All I am trying to do is create a tag to simply put a set point to control the 4-20 from my PanelView. Lets say I put in a setpoint of 50 only to open half way. would that work? If my scaling is correct?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2018, 03:08 PM   #4
janner_10
Supporting Member
United Kingdom

janner_10 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Tewkesbury
Posts: 471
Yes as above. Just scale 0% to 100% to 4mA to 20mA.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2018, 03:22 PM   #5
Willlly
Member
United States

Willlly is offline
 
Willlly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 8
Ok thanks, I will try that and see what else I can come up with.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2018, 04:53 PM   #6
Willlly
Member
United States

Willlly is offline
 
Willlly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 8
ok I have my SCP scaled but my valve is only staying open half way, could this be a module config or something? I have not dealt with analog output cards a lot.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2018, 06:35 PM   #7
rupej
Member
United States

rupej is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: NC
Posts: 273
Yes it could. What's the part number for your output card, and how is it configured? Post a screenshot of the setup screen and your SCP
  Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2018, 08:31 AM   #8
Willlly
Member
United States

Willlly is offline
 
Willlly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 8
Input min=0

Input max=100

Scaled min=4000

Scaled max=20000

I have my module configured to raw/proportional data with low limit at -29822 and high and +29085. I have also tried engineering units with a high low of 4000 and 20000. but still get the same outcome. 1769-OF8C is my analog output card
  Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2018, 11:12 AM   #9
Willlly
Member
United States

Willlly is offline
 
Willlly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 8
Here is my SCP and Configuration.
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture1.PNG (7.0 KB, 19 views)
File Type: png Capture2.PNG (10.8 KB, 17 views)
File Type: png Capture3.PNG (6.0 KB, 16 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2018, 12:28 PM   #10
Aardwizz
Member
United Kingdom

Aardwizz is offline
 
Aardwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Swindon
Posts: 76
According to the Help file, the scaling for 4-20 mA "Raw/Proportional" is -29,822 to 29,085.

Because your SCP block never sets a value lower than 4000, you're always sending out at least 12.something mA, keeping your valve at at least 50%, and never more than roughly 80% open.

Either change the scaled min / max on your SCP block to -29,822 & 29,085, or change your Configuration to "Engineering Units" and see what happens.
Attached Images
File Type: png AO.png (13.0 KB, 109 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2018, 05:08 PM   #11
Willlly
Member
United States

Willlly is offline
 
Willlly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 8
I know I am missing something simple that I have not checked or done. I tried both ways with the same outcome. Ill keep digging into it, but what else could it be?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2018, 05:13 PM   #12
dogleg43
Member
United States

dogleg43 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 271
Quote:
Originally Posted by Willlly View Post
I know I am missing something simple that I have not checked or done. I tried both ways with the same outcome. Ill keep digging into it, but what else could it be?
Could it be the valve or wiring?

Try using a4-20mA signal generator and see if the valve responds correctly.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2018, 12:00 AM   #13
Aardwizz
Member
United Kingdom

Aardwizz is offline
 
Aardwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Swindon
Posts: 76
In the controller tags, open up the Input file for the module / channel. There is diagnostic information there that may tell you what's going on.
Attached Images
File Type: png AO.png (13.6 KB, 87 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2018, 10:19 AM   #14
Willlly
Member
United States

Willlly is offline
 
Willlly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 8
ok thanks guys I think I have figured it out, the valve may be the issue. Thanks for the help!
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Step 7 output value scaling Sake_no_oni LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 February 12th, 2014 09:11 AM
Omron E5CN temp controller control output type unsaint32 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 January 5th, 2014 12:01 AM
Siemens Step5 150u Analogue Output Scaling b16mcc LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 20 October 24th, 2011 09:06 AM
ControlLogix PID Scaling - Help! kdcui LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 May 10th, 2011 06:09 PM
Encoder output types Orn Jonsson LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 May 9th, 2007 04:25 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 PM.


.