You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 22nd, 2018, 09:36 AM   #1
PartialGenious
Member
United States

PartialGenious is offline
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Virginia
Posts: 11
Factory Talk View ME 1 button 2 different functions

Hello,

I have 2 screens that I can call up from the PLC. The reason I am calling them from the PLC is the customer wants to touch a button to enable one thing then hold a button to bring up an on top screen. I am triggering this through the PLC with a timer. If they tap the button the screen doesn't come up (aka timer didn't go finished). If they hold the button for 2 seconds in this case (timer went don) the PLC triggers the screen to come up via global connections and the remote display number.

Question is how can I alter the position of this screen via parameters as well?

It seems like if I used a go to display button I could pass parameters into it to change the position of this on top screen. But I can't figure out another way to accomplish this to have 2 functions for the same button. I may be looking at it wrong in that I need 2 separate buttons, one button for the tap and one for the go to display and maybe only enable the go to display button after the timer goes finished?

Maybe typing this out I just answered my own question... Anyways thoughts are appreciated if anyone has experience with this.

Thanks,
PG
  Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2018, 10:36 AM   #2
PartialGenious
Member
United States

PartialGenious is offline
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Virginia
Posts: 11
My thought I had while writing this did not work. I tried having a go to display button with visibility properties set off the timer. This did not work as you have to let loose of the button then press it again to get the go to display button to work.

Has anyone tried something similar to this in factory talk view ME? Again I can get it to work with bringing up the display from the PLC but I also want to change the position that the display shows up at. I can't seem to find a good way to accomplish this except with a go to display button.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2018, 01:11 PM   #3
Rob...
Supporting Member
United Kingdom

Rob... is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Manchester
Posts: 108
You could either write a macro and trigger that with the button.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2018, 01:58 PM   #4
arlenjacobs
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

arlenjacobs is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Kelowna
Posts: 606
I don't think you can do everything you want here.
- one button with both a short press action & a long press action
- write a tag value on short press & open a display on long press
- have a variable location for the display open that the PLC can set


The "remote display open" will only open the display at its default location (its own display properties). So if you are using the PLC to open the display, that is set.

You could make a few copies of the display, each with a different open location. Then have the PLC open the correct display for your situation.


Or, just create two different buttons on the screen (so that the choice of actions is obvious to the user). One button for the tag set, and another to open a display.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help importing controller tags to Factory talk view studio kandymann LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 28th, 2016 05:43 AM
Factory Talk View Site Edition Auto logout after 20 mins of adle time mahone LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 23 February 5th, 2016 01:05 PM
Compactlogix I/O minor fault and seeing tags in Factory Talk View Handcraftedsince87 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 June 10th, 2015 09:42 AM
DH+ & Factory Talk View ME danielplcsnet LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 March 2nd, 2011 05:22 PM
panelbuilder to factory talk view machine edition pssriram16 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 June 24th, 2009 02:00 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 AM.


.