You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 22nd, 2018, 10:05 AM   #1
Msut419
Member
United States

Msut419 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: new york
Posts: 9
Allen Bradly to GE PLC

So i am looking to install a small AB system to control a unit in my plant and i need to talk with my GE 90/70 (main machine PLC) as simply as possible.
I was thinking a micro logix to run the small system, will this work with the communication to the GE 90/70? What do i have to do or use to make them talk?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2018, 10:18 AM   #2
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is offline
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 6,467
What CPU in the 90-70? What other communications modules are present?
You'll probably have to go with Modbus as the protocol, either Modbus RTU over a serial link or Modbus TCP over an Ethernet link.
If there is an HMI installed already on the 90-70 system look into using it as the bridge to pass data between the two PLCs.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2018, 10:24 AM   #3
Msut419
Member
United States

Msut419 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: new york
Posts: 9
Okay, we have about 11 HMIs and as for the CPU on the 90-70 i'm not sure off the top of my head, they were all installed back in 98. I know when converting from GE to AB there is a function in RSlinx that you can use to do it in. But all my GE coms are serial to TCP/IP.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2018, 10:51 AM   #4
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is offline
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 6,467
GE was slow to adopt TCP/IP in the 90-70 line. If you have an Ethernet module in any of the 90-70s that dates back to the time when they were new don't assume it will be plug-n-play with current defaults.
To act as a bridge between the two PLCs the HMI will need multiple ports, have support for different protocols on each port, and have scripting capabilities.
I don't know anything about any tools in RSLinx to facilitate communications with any non-AB products.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2018, 07:14 PM   #5
Mike Lamond
Member
United States

Mike Lamond is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bailey View Post
What CPU in the 90-70? What other communications modules are present?
You'll probably have to go with Modbus as the protocol, either Modbus RTU over a serial link or Modbus TCP over an Ethernet link.
If there is an HMI installed already on the 90-70 system look into using it as the bridge to pass data between the two PLCs.
You can have Modbus serial communications between a MicroLogix 1100 or 1400 and one of the ports in an IC697CMM711 communications coprocessor. I haven't tried the two together but have used both separately. Both support RS232 or RS485 connections and master or slave operation. Either way, you will need to build a custom cable. I recommend using the ML as master mainly because I find A-B MSG instructions easier to program than GE COMM_REQ. One caveat is that GE CMM modules in Modbus slave mode map 0x coils to GE %Q coils. %M coils are not available.

Now back to the ProSoft MNETC and some fussy devices...
  Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2018, 12:26 PM   #6
a062549
Member
China

a062549 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Home
Posts: 100
I've done something similar, but I used a Red Lion DSPLE to do the conversions. And tried to do it otherwise, and this was my final fix.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Siemens PLC memory vs Allen Bradley PLC memory JensV LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 October 22nd, 2017 01:12 PM
Conversion of PLC Ladder from Allen bradly to Mitshubishi NAVEEN KUMAR GUPTA LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 September 19th, 2017 09:44 AM
S1200 CM1242-5 profibus slave module +GE Func Master plc ElyWise LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 May 7th, 2012 07:57 AM
Choosing an Allen Bradley PLC to learn on JeffsInventions LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 April 2nd, 2012 07:53 AM
Allen Bradley Compact Logix to GE 90-30 Jerry1942 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 April 28th, 2006 07:58 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 AM.


.