You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 2nd, 2018, 09:23 AM   #1
Cydog
Member
United States

Cydog is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Maryland
Posts: 68
Dog Having problems using a MOV to move a string to a string.Data Type Does Not Match

Good Morning ,

I'm trying to move a total for a dose into a dose history. I'm able to get my totals to move just fine. I would also like to timestamp this dose . I have my date and time working well. The problem I'm having is , I am trying to use a MOV to move a date string to another string . I keep getting the message , Data Type does not match. Both are strings. Why do you think I am getting this message ?

Thanks so much for your help.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2018, 09:26 AM   #2
boneless
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

boneless is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: OKC
Posts: 1,455
What PLC/software are you using.

My first guess would be a mismatch in size.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2018, 09:28 AM   #3
IndustMech
Member
United States

IndustMech is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chigagoland
Posts: 31
Try using the copy command (COP)
  Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2018, 10:07 AM   #4
Cydog
Member
United States

Cydog is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Maryland
Posts: 68
I'm sorry . CompactLogix and RS Logix 5000
  Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2018, 10:22 AM   #5
IndustMech
Member
United States

IndustMech is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chigagoland
Posts: 31
COP is used in Logix 500 and 5000 and works in both to move Strings
  Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2018, 03:50 PM   #6
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,635
IndustMech is correct. If you look at the help file for the MOV instruction, you'll see that the STRING data type is not supported. You have to use a COP instruction.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2018, 04:51 PM   #7
Jeev
Member
Australia

Jeev is offline
 
Jeev's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 435
Unless you want to MOV the LEN and one SINT at a time.... I too like to live life dangerously.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting Data type DI to String acargib LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 June 4th, 2007 03:07 AM
Delete recipe in rsview file using command button?? briana banks LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 January 25th, 2007 01:53 PM
Logix5000 String Type mrmss LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 January 30th, 2006 06:08 AM
How to 'Move' string from var1 to var2 ? briana banks LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 November 17th, 2005 06:46 AM
How to do a MOV with a ST file in RSLogix500 rta53 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 June 8th, 2004 04:11 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 PM.


.