You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 5th, 2018, 02:13 PM   #1
LoganB
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

LoganB is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 479
1769-ECR... are they required??

In normal operation, obviously, we need an ECR for our compact logix to be happy and safe.

In a lab setting, just to do a quick test of an IO card, is there any way to jumper the end of the compact logix block to fool it into thinking there is an ECR in place? I literally have a 20 second test to do and don't want to spend $20 and three days to do it.

TIA!
__________________
Present: Controls Engineer
Future: Skynet Engineer
  Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2018, 02:21 PM   #2
LoganB
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

LoganB is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 479
I feel like I can hear Ken shaking his head at me...
__________________
Present: Controls Engineer
Future: Skynet Engineer
  Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2018, 02:39 PM   #3
Geospark
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Geospark is offline
 
Geospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kildare
Posts: 2,384
Just inhibit the I/O Connection for the module to run the program but do you need to test I/O on this module?

G.
__________________
"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men".
  Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2018, 03:24 PM   #4
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is online now
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,098
In general, the 1769 IO bus won't run properly without an end cap, unless the moon is full and your St. Christopher medal is fully charged.

The end cap is not complicated: it consists of just four resistors, but the wiring of them I had to probe with a meter.

R1 = 1000 ohms
R2 = 120 ohms
R3 = 1000 ohms
R4 = 330 ohms

R1 is between pins 2 and Outer Plane (3,5,8,9)
R2 is between pins 2 and 10
R3 is between pins 10 and Inner Plane (1,11,14,16)
R4 is between pins 13 and Inner Plane (1,11,14,16)


If I was just guessing and had only one resistor in my desert island, I would put 120 ohms between pins 2 and 10 because that's a typical CAN termination.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1769ECR.jpg (73.8 KB, 101 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2018, 03:47 PM   #5
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,635
Saving this one for next time I get stuck in rural China with no end caps and a deadline!

Also, if I'm ever stuck on a desert island with only an Allen-Bradley PLC to signal for help, I want Ken with me.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2018, 04:34 PM   #6
Geospark
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Geospark is offline
 
Geospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kildare
Posts: 2,384
That's great info Ken, thanks.

Now I'm really curious to "see" someone, LoganB?, attempt an ad hoc end cap. Would the CAN termination be enough I wonder? Are the others just window dressing like surge suppression? The 120 ohm makes sense as the 5.1vdc CIP bus is effectively riding on CAN.

What could go wrong?...

In the interest of us all learning - take one for the team and try it!

G.
__________________
"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men".
  Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2018, 07:11 AM   #7
LoganB
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

LoganB is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 479
Great info Ken! I will try and test this today and let you guys know what happens!
__________________
Present: Controls Engineer
Future: Skynet Engineer
  Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2018, 08:27 AM   #8
LoganB
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

LoganB is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 479
Welp, was not a perfect test environment. I didn't have a 120 ohm resistor on hand, so I had to use two 220 ohm resistors in parallel, though not sure if 110 ohms is close enough to work (should work within the range of 108-132 ohms iirc?). I was able to get the IO to be happy for about two seconds, then the resistor pin slipped off the plug pin, and I wasn't able to get it to work again. If I can get my hands on a 120 ohm resistor and maybe a spare 16 pin female plug to make it easier to keep contact with the correct pins, I will attempt this again! If anyone else tries, let us know what you find out!
__________________
Present: Controls Engineer
Future: Skynet Engineer
  Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2018, 09:05 AM   #9
AustralIan
Member
United Kingdom

AustralIan is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 763
These guys are selling 120ohm resistors and 16 pin female plugs.

https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/plc-accessories/6987556/
  Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2018, 09:11 AM   #10
LoganB
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

LoganB is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 479
No issue finding the hardware itself! I'll just have to do it at my lab instead of at my work. My boss has minimal patience for "projects" that he doesn't assign himself
__________________
Present: Controls Engineer
Future: Skynet Engineer
  Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2018, 11:55 AM   #11
unie01
Member
United States

unie01 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: ohio
Posts: 5
interesting thread, I also have the same question[IMG]http://*************/buluhidung/36/o.png[/IMG]
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1769 AENTR comm's on power cycle John Morris LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 16 August 3rd, 2017 05:33 PM
1769 SM 2 Module Programming (Mod Bus) Shrey LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 July 8th, 2013 05:25 AM
micologix 1100 & 1769 IF4 (analog) CB_182 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 February 13th, 2009 11:16 AM
Lost Ethernet option link from a 1769 L35E captain_fracasse LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 October 2nd, 2008 02:23 PM
Ml1500, 1769 If4i Thomas Franklin LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 December 1st, 2006 04:04 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 AM.


.