You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 7th, 2018, 08:50 AM   #1
Jsu0234m
Member
United States

Jsu0234m is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Alabama
Posts: 59
Question CompactLogix High Speed Input Card

Everyone,
I have an application where I need to pump a varying weight(depending on recipe) into a tank. I can't use the load cells on the tank because the mixer has to run the whole time which causes the tank to fluctuate more than my recipe tolerances allow.

So I decided on using a IFM SP9601 flow sensor(1.3-80gpm) that will give me 100 pulses/gallon which is more than accurate for what i need (+-2 lbs is within recipe tolerances).

The problem I'm having is I don't know if my input card will read fast enough to count the pulses. Quick math 1gal/100pulses, pump is roughly 30gal/min, roughly 50 pulses/second that i need to be able to measure.

I think I'll probably need a 1769-IQ16F which is a high speed input module but i don't know for sure if it will read a 50hz signal.

This is the first time I've had to deal with high speed inputs, so i don't know what spec i should be looking for on the datasheet. I attached it for reference.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks again.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 1769-IQ16F.pdf (43.9 KB, 5 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2018, 08:55 AM   #2
jstolaruk
Member
United States

jstolaruk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit, SE Michigan
Posts: 3,183
Take a look at the digital filtering. It appears to be delectable between 0s to 2ms. 2ms is 500hz, more than good for a 50hz signal. But, you may want to look at the HSC card for this application.
__________________
"You can live to be a hundred if you give up all the things that make you want to live to be a hundred." Woody Allen
  Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2018, 08:28 AM   #3
Jsu0234m
Member
United States

Jsu0234m is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Alabama
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstolaruk View Post
Take a look at the digital filtering. It appears to be delectable between 0s to 2ms. 2ms is 500hz, more than good for a 50hz signal. But, you may want to look at the HSC card for this application.
Thanks for your help.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2018, 09:33 AM   #4
pal
Member
United Kingdom

pal is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Tilbury
Posts: 175
I am using a 1769-IQ16F for a pulse train of up to 100 pulses per second with no missed pulses - but I have used screened cable for the input .
Paul
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Increment Encoder to PLC with High Speed Input PoseidonHo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 June 23rd, 2014 12:46 AM
GE Fanuc PLC with high speed data acquisition? busarider29 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 May 20th, 2014 01:33 PM
High Speed counter Card and Encoder ryancoco LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 May 23rd, 2011 10:34 AM
How high, high speed input required? timbo_uk LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 19 January 19th, 2008 02:06 PM
VFD speed control Alan Case LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 July 18th, 2002 03:09 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 AM.


.