You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 15th, 2018, 12:49 PM   #1
kekrahulik
Member
United States

kekrahulik is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lancaster,pa
Posts: 258
1756-l82s

Just sharing some experience...

I now have a 1756-L82S processor to replace an L72S ver28. The L82S requires upgrading to ver31.

I opened the ver28 program and changed the processor to L82S ver31. It seemed like the normal conversion at first...and then it started listing that it was converting modules (drives and IO) which I don't recall seeing before in other upgrades. When it got to a PF755 drive with datalinks, RSStudio bombed out. After multiple attempts, I finally deleted the 755 and the conversion completed such that I could open it in ver31. Not sure if it didn't like the 755 or if the datalinks was maybe the issue.

Ver31 looks a little different. Nothing alarming, but the icons in the controller organizer are different and the program(ladder window) has a different look.

I manually added the 755 drive back into the IO tree. Opening up the drive properties looks a little different too. I also couldn't find "datalinks", but I was able to add the old linked parameters as Inputs and outputs - which seems to be making the program happy.

I installed the processor and partner in my test rack. When I browsed to it with RSLinx, it showed as an "?unknown device, 1756-L82ES". It would not let me select it as something I could download to. I grabbed the latest firmware and EDS from AB's website and installed them - still listed as unknown. So I used ControlFlash (ver 15 req'd) to flash the safety partner and then the controller (BTW - the controller isn't listed as 1756-L82S like the L7xS controller are listed - it is listed as a Guardlogix 8xS - took awhile to realize that). Once I had the firmware loaded, I was able to load the converted program. Hopefully will get a downtime oppty to try it out soon.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2018, 12:55 PM   #2
jstolaruk
Member
United States

jstolaruk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit, SE Michigan
Posts: 3,183
This thread may help explain what you are experiencing: http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=114587
__________________
"You can live to be a hundred if you give up all the things that make you want to live to be a hundred." Woody Allen
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which vsn of Lgx 5K to use for AB 1756 L55/A CPU, Mikemator LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 December 2nd, 2014 07:22 AM
1756 chassis arjun11 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 January 31st, 2014 08:10 PM
RSView32 Runtime with 1756 L55M14 Controller RZR LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 April 13th, 2012 07:25 AM
AB 1756 CNB E - "TEST" displayed backwards???? colly LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 October 23rd, 2010 02:27 AM
AB ControlLogix 1756 comm. HNguyen LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 July 13th, 2007 04:58 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 PM.


.