You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!

plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!

Go Back - Interactive Q & A > - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 7th, 2018, 11:02 AM   #1
United States

patelaksh30 is offline
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Post Started Working on PLC


I just got job as Controls Technician and I stared working on RSLogix 5000. I have worked before 500 but 5000 is completely new for me. When it comes to troubleshooting then I can do it. The place where I work, we do welding here through Fanuc robots and we control them with AB PLC. So, sometimes I get why robot is not working and I start working it by toggling any lost bit. But sometimes I can not get it where is the actual problem.

Any tips from where I should start looking program during troubleshooting time?
Robots do welding, mig welding, glue, handling process.
Let me know if you guys have any tips which helps me to improve.

  Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2018, 11:38 AM   #2
United States

A_G is offline
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: MA
Posts: 81
If you are familiar with RSLogix500 but not RSLogix5000, then you will have a lot to learn. RSLogix5000 is Tag based (unlike RSLogix500). So I would start by looking at some sample RSLogix5000 programs and getting familiar with them.

For troubleshooting: in my opinion it is best to start with a copy of the drawings (if available). Look at the drawings and figure out which IO points, cables etc may be causing the issue. Then look up the IO points etc in the logic. Get familiar with the Controller Tags in RSLogix5000.

Hope this helps.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2018, 11:48 AM   #3

gclshortt is offline
gclshortt's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Cobourg
Posts: 2,316
A_G +1
Similar thread.

Since you are familiar with RSLogix500 take a look at this manual for converting.
Comparing PLC-5/SLC 500 architecture to Logix architecture.

Connect with us on Facebook:
  Reply With Quote
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rs logix 5000 varunmahendran91 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 October 6th, 2014 01:26 PM
Siemens PLC won't auto-run after power-up Lamboom LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 August 19th, 2014 04:32 PM
How to get started in PLC. MrNobody LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 February 25th, 2009 06:21 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 PM.