You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 7th, 2018, 10:02 AM   #1
patelaksh30
Member
United States

patelaksh30 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Post Started Working on PLC

Hello,

I just got job as Controls Technician and I stared working on RSLogix 5000. I have worked before 500 but 5000 is completely new for me. When it comes to troubleshooting then I can do it. The place where I work, we do welding here through Fanuc robots and we control them with AB PLC. So, sometimes I get why robot is not working and I start working it by toggling any lost bit. But sometimes I can not get it where is the actual problem.

Any tips from where I should start looking program during troubleshooting time?
Robots do welding, mig welding, glue, handling process.
Let me know if you guys have any tips which helps me to improve.

Regards
  Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2018, 10:38 AM   #2
A_G
Member
United States

A_G is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: MA
Posts: 117
If you are familiar with RSLogix500 but not RSLogix5000, then you will have a lot to learn. RSLogix5000 is Tag based (unlike RSLogix500). So I would start by looking at some sample RSLogix5000 programs and getting familiar with them.

For troubleshooting: in my opinion it is best to start with a copy of the drawings (if available). Look at the drawings and figure out which IO points, cables etc may be causing the issue. Then look up the IO points etc in the logic. Get familiar with the Controller Tags in RSLogix5000.

Hope this helps.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2018, 10:48 AM   #3
gclshortt
Member
Canada

gclshortt is offline
 
gclshortt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Cobourg
Posts: 2,559
A_G +1

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=58032
Similar thread.

Since you are familiar with RSLogix500 take a look at this manual for converting.
http://literature.rockwellautomation...m085_-en-p.pdf
Comparing PLC-5/SLC 500 architecture to Logix architecture.

Regards,
__________________
Garry
http://www.accautomation.ca
Connect with us on Facebook: facebook.com/accautomation/
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rs logix 5000 varunmahendran91 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 October 6th, 2014 01:26 PM
Siemens PLC won't auto-run after power-up Lamboom LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 August 19th, 2014 04:32 PM
How to get started in PLC. MrNobody LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 February 25th, 2009 06:21 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 PM.


.