You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 18th, 2018, 07:17 AM   #1
Ozpeter
Member
United States

Ozpeter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Virginia
Posts: 65
Rack mount an Rx3i

I have an Rx3i system on a 7-slot universal backplane that I want to recess mount in a 19" rack.

At first glance the GE IC693ACC313 Recessed Mount Adapter Bracket is exactly what I want. But in the PACSystems RX3i System Manual, it says about this particular part (my emphasis):

Quote:
The IC693ACC313 Recessed Mount Adapter Bracket can be used to recess-mount a 10-Slot Expansion Backplane (IC694CHS392) inside a 19 rack. This bracket cannot be used with a Universal Backplane.
Does anyone know what the reason for this limitation is? Is it just that the ACC313 doesn't have screw holes pre-drilled at the required locations? Or is it something that I am totally missing?

Finally, normally I would feign shock at the price of GE parts, but I can get this on eBay for about $50. However if anyone can suggest a cheaper alternative I'd love to hear about it
  Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2018, 07:38 AM   #2
Sapper307
Member
United States

Sapper307 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Maryland
Posts: 90
It looks like the only issue is dimensions and the predrilled holes. The ten slot backplane is 16.85" wide on center (same as predrilled holes on rackmount adapter), whereas the universal is 9.84" wide on center at the mounting holes. Both are 3.54" high. Looks like if you own a drill bit you can break the "rules".

edit: The 4" dimension for the rack mount holes seemed a little odd. 1 rack unit is 1.75" and the IC693ACC313 has holes at 4". that would be something like 2.25 RU. Granted the holes of 1RU are really 1.25 on center, even then to me that adds up to 4.375 or 3.75, no in between.

Last edited by Sapper307; June 18th, 2018 at 07:47 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2018, 07:42 AM   #3
dYoast
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dYoast is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 206
The expansion racks are 10-slot and are smaller than a 12-slot universal backplane.

The acc313 is meant for a 10-slot expansion.
I don't see why you could not use it for a 7-slot baseplate. You would have to drill holes.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2018, 07:43 AM   #4
Ozpeter
Member
United States

Ozpeter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Virginia
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sapper307 View Post
Looks like if you own a drill bit you can break the "rules".
That's what confused me. The solution couldn't be that obvious. As it raises the question as to why GE didn't pre-drill the part for its standard racks.

Obviously there has to be some sort of issue that will cause my control system to fail and kick my cat.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2018, 07:47 AM   #5
Dravik
Member
United States

Dravik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,343
Sure, those holes will interfere with the Feng shui of the control system. You'll need to balance the negative energy waves with special GE brand dampening rocks.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2018, 07:49 AM   #6
Sapper307
Member
United States

Sapper307 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Maryland
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozpeter View Post
That's what confused me. The solution couldn't be that obvious. As it raises the question as to why GE didn't pre-drill the part for its standard racks.

Obviously there has to be some sort of issue that will cause my control system to fail and kick my cat.
Only thing i can think of that would be a problem is if the rack isn't grounded properly, but then that would be a problem in both a 10-slot and a universal backplane
  Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2018, 07:51 AM   #7
Sapper307
Member
United States

Sapper307 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Maryland
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dravik View Post
Sure, those holes will interfere with the Feng shui of the control system. You'll need to balance the negative energy waves with special GE brand dampening rocks.
my professional recommendation would be to put an amethyst crystal in the southwest corner of the rack and burn some sage in the north eastern corner of the rack. I can source the rackmount options for both, at a cost of course.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2018, 07:59 AM   #8
Ozpeter
Member
United States

Ozpeter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Virginia
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sapper307 View Post
my professional recommendation would be to put an amethyst crystal in the southwest corner of the rack and burn some sage in the north eastern corner of the rack. I can source the rackmount options for both, at a cost of course.
The rack in question will change position depending on when I wish to re-arrange my office. Can you provide a quote for a solution in which the orientation of corners of the rack are not fixed?
  Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2018, 08:03 AM   #9
Sapper307
Member
United States

Sapper307 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Maryland
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozpeter View Post
The rack in question will change position depending on when I wish to re-arrange my office. Can you provide a quote for a solution in which the orientation of corners of the rack are not fixed?
you're hosed buddy
  Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2018, 08:04 AM   #10
Ozpeter
Member
United States

Ozpeter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Virginia
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sapper307 View Post
you're hosed buddy
Hey, I'm already working with GE equipment. No need to kick me while I'm down!
  Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2018, 10:00 AM   #11
NetNathan
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

NetNathan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 1,441
It could be related to the cooling of the Universal Rack. The complete backplane needs to be touching a surface?
__________________
****Control Freak****
Net is where I be and Nathan is me.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2018, 11:35 AM   #12
Ozpeter
Member
United States

Ozpeter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Virginia
Posts: 65
In looking more closely at the GE part, there is a flange at the top of the ACC313 that may impinge on the rack. But I have no experience with it.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
19" Rack mount for PLC gripster LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 February 16th, 2018 11:19 AM
RX3i CPU 305 fault -loss of (or missing) rack, then "addition of rack" defcon.klaxon LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 February 1st, 2018 07:44 PM
Rack Mount Ethernet Switches Psymon LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 October 12th, 2010 05:38 AM
ControlLogix and PLC5 Remote I/O Rack tgoulding LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 23 February 21st, 2007 10:51 AM
Ab Plc5 Rio Problem. fernandes LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 March 7th, 2004 01:25 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18 AM.


.