You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!

plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.

Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!

Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Old October 6th, 2002, 04:09 PM   #1
Robby
United States

Panelmate to Micrologix

I could use some advice before I get to far along with a project. I would like to connect a panelmate 1500 to a micrologix 1000. I am totally new to working with HMI programming. I installed the panelview configuration software (power series) and transfer utilities. I also have a
"Panelmate Power Series Allen-Bradeley Driver Disc" and
"Panelmate Compact SLC-500 Option disk"
I have not loaded these because there is a note that came in the box that states that once the DH-485 driver is loaded it can not be removed and no aditional installs will be possible.
Will I be necessarilly using DH-485 to talk to a Micrologix 1000?
If not maybe I should not load it at all.
Do you think the one load warning applies to both disks or just the disk marked SLC-500 Option. If I do load them am I loading them on the HMI or the computer because if I only have one load I may want to use my computer at work before I practice at home. Thanks RobbyUSA@aol.com
Old October 6th, 2002, 06:10 PM   #2
Eddie Willers
United States

Probably you should just load the "Allen-Bradley Driver" disk; it should give you the "DF1 Full Duplex" driver option.

The MicroLogix uses DF1 Full Duplex protocol on it's RS-232 serial port by default, and if you're connecting just the one PanelMate to the one MicroLogix you will only need that protocol.

The Micro *can* use the DH-485 protocol for multi-drop communication, but you don't need it for just the one PanelMate.