You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 6th, 2002, 04:09 PM   #1
Robby
Member
United States

Robby is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 11
Panelmate to Micrologix

I could use some advice before I get to far along with a project. I would like to connect a panelmate 1500 to a micrologix 1000. I am totally new to working with HMI programming. I installed the panelview configuration software (power series) and transfer utilities. I also have a
"Panelmate Power Series Allen-Bradeley Driver Disc" and
"Panelmate Compact SLC-500 Option disk"
I have not loaded these because there is a note that came in the box that states that once the DH-485 driver is loaded it can not be removed and no aditional installs will be possible.
Will I be necessarilly using DH-485 to talk to a Micrologix 1000?
If not maybe I should not load it at all.
Do you think the one load warning applies to both disks or just the disk marked SLC-500 Option. If I do load them am I loading them on the HMI or the computer because if I only have one load I may want to use my computer at work before I practice at home. Thanks RobbyUSA@aol.com
  Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2002, 06:10 PM   #2
Eddie Willers
Member
United States

Eddie Willers is offline
 
Eddie Willers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Grand Central Station
Posts: 590
Probably you should just load the "Allen-Bradley Driver" disk; it should give you the "DF1 Full Duplex" driver option.

The MicroLogix uses DF1 Full Duplex protocol on it's RS-232 serial port by default, and if you're connecting just the one PanelMate to the one MicroLogix you will only need that protocol.

The Micro *can* use the DH-485 protocol for multi-drop communication, but you don't need it for just the one PanelMate.

Hopefully there are some current PanelMate users onboard here who can comment more closely; I haven't used the PM Power Series for about six years. I did like their big buttons !
  Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2002, 06:12 PM   #3
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is online now
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 5,000
You have to pay extra for the DH485 driver license. I believe it comes on a separate disk. When you download the driver to the PanelMate, the transfer utility only lets you download directly from the floppy to the PanelMate. This is true of all extra-cost options for the PanelMate.

Running setup.exe from the AB driver disk will install the DF1 driver on your computer. The PanelMate Compact was the name for the 9" CRT line of PanelMates. My memory is hazy on this, but I think that to do anything with a PM Compact, you would use the DOS software.

When it comes time to download your HMI screens to the PanelMate, you run the Transfer Utility. (From the 'File' menu in the Power Series software click 'VCP Transfer'). If this is brand new PanleMate, you must first download the Executive Firmware, then whatever driver you need, then your application.

I could be wrong on some of the details, so you should probably contact Cutler Hammer tech support at 1-800-809-2772 for verification.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2002, 06:37 PM   #4
Robby
Member
United States

Robby is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 11
Thanks! to both you guys those answers are very helpfull whAT A GREAT site I just loaded the A-B driver and every thing seems to be working now. I guess I will hold off on lading the DH-485 driver until I need it. Thanks again. Robby
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Micrologix 1000 dgreen LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 February 16th, 2006 06:17 AM
SLC 5/04 to PanelMate Power Pro 3000 through AIC+ hhuong LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 December 10th, 2004 08:08 AM
MicroLogix 1200 Channel 0 Lockup jgreenewv LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 September 2nd, 2004 05:14 PM
Comm error:CTC Powerstation P-1 & Micrologix 1500-1764 LRP Pro Gem1 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 March 30th, 2004 03:42 PM
Intergrating a barcode scanner with a Micrologix 1200 B baileyoc LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 March 21st, 2004 08:43 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 AM.


.