You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!

plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.

Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!

Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Old February 12th, 2005, 06:32 PM   #1
FORGETFULL MEMBER

Flags, Tags, industry terminology and acronyms.

Please excuse me I forgot my password..its at work I am BOWRIDER.I have been a regular visitor to this site for some time now. I am a lowly maintenance mechanic who has been in the process learning plcs on my own for some time now. It was this site that inspired me on the solution for a problem we had for a certain piece of equipment. Forgive me for not remembering the contributor but he posted an example of indirect addressing to get into the guts of how a timer works (Allen Bradley). We had a problem with a case erector seeming to loose “time” intermittently and not releasing the cases when it was supposed to. It is controlled by a micrologix 1000. Using the contributors example, (I had to use indexed addressing since the 1000 does not support indirect), I created a “trap”. Basically I took a snapshot of the high speed counter every 10th of a second or so and when the machine screwed up again I checked the log and found the counter had actually reversed and stalled and then took off again. The cause turned out to be the coupling between the encoder and the drive had split and occasionally was breaking loose and slipping. Because of the mount position of the coupling you would have never seen it. So hats off to all of you for your past, present and future help.