You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 17th, 2005, 03:53 PM   #1
mmw
Member
United States

mmw is offline
 
mmw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 91
RSLinx / Controllogix problem

My NT4.0 box running RSLinx 2.42.00 (build 18) will not allow me to browse past a 1756-ENBT module. I can "see" the ethernet module in RSWho, but when I click on the "+" to expand and drill into it, the "+" changes to a "-" (as I expect) but then just sits there and looks dumb. The driver Diagnostic Event Log has an entry stating "Can't read port type: no Harmony object for this Ethernet". I have already tried deleting the two harmony files, mentioned in one of Rockwell's tech notes. Not sure which direction to try next. Anybody else had this problem? Any thoughts (thoughts = solutions)?
Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2005, 05:28 PM   #2
Operaghost
Member
United States

Operaghost is offline
 
Operaghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Posts: 2,559
Assuming you know the IP addresses of the devices on the other side of the ENBT, can you use Windows Ping utility to ping them from your PC?

OG
  Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2005, 05:31 PM   #3
Contr_Conn
Member
United States

Contr_Conn is offline
 
Contr_Conn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,969
Most likely you need EDS file for you major revision.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2005, 08:43 PM   #4
bobwithdana
Member
United States

bobwithdana is offline
 
bobwithdana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: california
Posts: 239
First off what is connected to the Ethernet module? In some cases you need to ADD the Device so that it will be there.

Also how are you connected to the PLC, In my case I connect wireless thru a network and have to put a gateway in my ENBT card.

Need more information and maybe provide some help.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2005, 10:47 PM   #5
tom_stalcup
Member
United States

tom_stalcup is offline
 
tom_stalcup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: fresno
Posts: 440
*Deleted due to saying the exact thing someone else said........ Gotta learn to read someday *
__________________
"If beating your head against the wall doesn't work, try banging a little harder. It won't help you any, but at least I'll be amused"

Last edited by tom_stalcup; February 17th, 2005 at 11:07 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2005, 12:47 AM   #6
chendrixson
Member
United States

chendrixson is offline
 
chendrixson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 18
If you are using the ethernet/IP drivers try setting up a plain ethernet driver adding the IP address of your ENBT in the station mapping configuration. Then you will have another "path" to take. we have been having trouble with this off and on for some time now. Version 2.41, 2.42, and 2.43 have all done the same thing. When Ethernet/IP locks up, I am always able to gain access through good old standard ethernet driver.


Regards,
Charlie
  Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2005, 07:33 AM   #7
mmw
Member
United States

mmw is offline
 
mmw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 91
Thanks for the responses guys. Let me address what many of you have suggested ...

operaghost: the ethernet module is setting directly next to a controllogix processor in the chassis. Yes, I can successfully ping the enbt.

Contr_Conn: I used the EDS Hardware Installation Tool and installed everything I could find. During the installation, the list of icons displayed the proper controllogix processor.

Bw/D: just connected on a plain ol' network ... nothing wireless involved.

chendrixon: I tried both the ethernet/ip and the standard ethernet driver, with the same results.

I have the same (RSLinx version) configuration on another pc that's running W2K and it works fine. Can drill into the controllogix chassis as needed. That's why I was suspecting that it might be an NT4.0 thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2005, 09:50 AM   #8
mmw
Member
United States

mmw is offline
 
mmw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 91
problem resolved ... corrupt and some missing backplane EDS files thanks again to all (Bw/D - you pointed me in the right direction)
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ControlLogix 1757-SRM problem ashley LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 March 1st, 2012 06:52 AM
SLC 5/05, RSLinx & Ethernet problem hhuong LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 February 6th, 2008 11:46 AM
RSLinx & DDE links Danocane LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 September 23rd, 2004 02:18 PM
Ab Plc5 Rio Problem. fernandes LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 March 7th, 2004 01:25 PM
RSLinx communication problem ashley LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 July 30th, 2002 06:11 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 AM.


.