You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 3rd, 2005, 08:00 PM   #1
wiley
Member
United States

wiley is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Question Real-time clock???

What exactly is meant by a real-time clock when talking about plc's? Do only some plc's have this feature or do all of them. In what applications would you use one??? How do you program the feature?
  Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2005, 08:17 PM   #2
Lancie1
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Lancie1 is offline
 
Lancie1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 9,304
Wiley,

I would say about 3/4th of the PLC models now have "real-time" clocks. (If it has a clock, it is almost invariably a real-time clock. I have never seen one with an unreal-time clock). The clock will have some bits that are available to the programmer, such as a 1-second, 1-minute, 0.1 second, and so on. foir example, the ALlen-=Bradley SLC 500 brand has a 16-bit "free-running" clock at Status File location S:4. Any of the S:4 bits can be used by a programmer on a rung of his program.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2005, 08:42 PM   #3
Combo
Lifetime Supporting Member
Belgium

Combo is offline
 
Combo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,279
In the harware configuration (Siemens Simatic S7) u can assign a clock memory byte. We use the 6th bit of that byte for pulsing signals, a lamp that must blink, pulse, or how do u name it in english.

The real time clock, I always think of the clock in de CPU module that keeps running, even when there is no power supply.

donno

c ya
  Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2005, 09:21 PM   #4
bernie_carlton
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

bernie_carlton is online now
 
bernie_carlton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 5,376
A 'real time clock' is a chip, or a small section of a larger chip, insidee the PLC's CPU. It always recieves power even if main power to the PLC rack is off. Using a very accurate crystal oscillator it can keep very accurate date and time, usually to within seconds a month. It is probably called 'real time' because it's time keeping is much more accurate than a ladder program's timers in the long run. It is very similar to the clock chip in your coumputer which keeps time even if it is turned off and unplugged.

The date/time it keeps is available by way of registers. It's setting can be changed from the programming PC and possibly by commands available in the PLC's language. Some programmers may use these to keep a copy of the date/time when some event happens (time stamping). Others may initiate events at a particular date or time. I don't think many of the 'real time clocks' account for 'daylight savings time' and you will see some questions which are asked on how to handle this. Some of the others have pointed out how very accurate pulses produced in addition to the date and time can be used.
__________________
Controlling outputs is the PLC's way of getting its inputs to change.

www.thePLCguy.com
  Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2005, 03:29 AM   #5
walters
Member
Netherlands

walters is offline
 
walters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: reusel
Posts: 185
when you look in s7 you can change the date and time of the real time clock with pressing the next key:

alt, L, y

there you see the date and time at that the PLC has at that moment and you can change it there then you can use in ob1
the ob1 date_time to put the time in a db and you can use the different bytes for programming a flashing light or something like that
this is an other way for programming that pulse without changing the hardware config
__________________
It is impossible to make anything foolproof because fools are so ingenious
  Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2005, 04:15 AM   #6
Ken M
Member
Scotland

Ken M is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: .
Posts: 1,137
What exactly is, and what isn't, "real time" ?

That is entirely determined by your requirements. If the only thing you need to do is keep track of which day we're on, then a calendar is 'real-time'. Sundials, hour-glasses, egg-timers can all be considered 'real-time' if they meet the needs of the process. I've actually heard some people say that a real-time clock needs to go to millisecond resolution. Well, if you're a physicist measuring particle decay, that's probably about 5 orders of magnitude too coarse.

Ken
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Real Time Clock in Simatic S7? sreev LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 35 January 24th, 2012 05:42 PM
crouzet millenium real time clock jim-garcia LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 February 7th, 2004 06:43 PM
Real Time Clock Relay???? firebrd10 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 February 5th, 2004 07:35 PM
VersaMax Real Time Clock Tom Jenkins LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 October 23rd, 2003 01:09 PM
Real time clock Mr_Black LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 October 21st, 2003 10:57 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 AM.


.