Question

Unregistered

U
PLC programming – how is it different from linear
programming in languanges such as C, C++, Matlab and Java?

Please feel free to register..it's free and the regulars in here a usually respond better to an ID rather than just "guest".

Questions posed that reveal the context of the query, get a better answer. We usually find that "one-liner", "left-field" questions like this are from students looking for some quick homework help.

Nothing wrong with this per se, but the way to present yourself in here is something like:

"I am a student....I've got this lamea** question posed by my tutor who couldn't program a PLC to save him/herself...this is what I think it means....and this is what I know "linear programming is"....and this is what I think the answer might be.....so how does this line up with what you guys know?"

At this point you will get a flood of helpful replies.

Regards

Thank you for your response. I am student and I am looking for an answer for to this question:

How is PLC programming different from linear programming in languanges such as C, C++, Matlab and Java?

If I may interject here, maybe he is referring to 'linear programming' as a console application that is not multitasking or multi threaded. Something like a program that executes one task and one task only. Something that has no branches in the logic, maybe.

But needless to say, in order to understand PLC Logic, he must understand that PLC's have progressed from being a simple man's tool as many PC programmers probably feel about them. They do not realize they support not only Ladder, but Sequential Fuction Charts, Structured Text, and Function Blocks. The thing to remember for the average PC programmer is this, Ladder, Function Blocks, and SFC are graphical in nature. Structured Text is the only thing like he may be accustomed to.