You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 14th, 2005, 06:09 PM   #1
BoxerBrats
Member
United States

BoxerBrats is offline
 
BoxerBrats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chico California
Posts: 187
Hour Meter

Hi i am building a program on a 450 AD plc with a EZ-Touch screen. I wangt go set up to list the hours a motor runs. Is this possible?

The only thing i could think of when the output is energized, to start a 60 second timer, and keep track of how many times it cycles
__________________
Joe the MASTER of BOXERS

this site is more fun than the time the hogs ate my little brother
  Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2005, 07:02 PM   #2
Terry Woods
Member
United States

Terry Woods is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,170
You can easily maintain a Second-Counter, Minute-Counter, Hour-Counter, and Day-Counter.

The Second-Counter (at 60-sec) trips the Minute-Counter, which (at 60-min) trips the Hour-Counter, which (24-Hr) trips the Day-Counter.... Year-Counter? Don't forget to use the universal formula for Leap-Year!

You can display each number in Integer form.

You can then display the data as...

Day = ......
Hour = ......
Min = ......
Sec = ......

or... as Day:Hr:Min:Sec (Just be sure to include a reading guide).
  Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2005, 07:09 PM   #3
AndyT
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

AndyT is offline
 
AndyT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 137
Look at the SP's incrementing a counter also.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2005, 07:14 PM   #4
Terry Woods
Member
United States

Terry Woods is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,170
So, Andy...

If "SP" refers to "Set Point"... what's that got to do with Motor Running?

If "SP" does NOT refer to "Set Point" then, for those that don't know... what are the "SPs"?
  Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2005, 07:20 PM   #5
AndyT
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

AndyT is offline
 
AndyT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 137
Special relays, they provide a one second, minute, etc, pulse that can increment a counter, in many case do not need a timer.

http://www.automationdirect.com/stat...user/appxd.pdf

Last edited by AndyT; April 14th, 2005 at 07:24 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2005, 07:50 PM   #6
Terry Woods
Member
United States

Terry Woods is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,170
Thanks for clarifying that.

Remember, many people, using different PLCs with different capabilities, are viewing these posts.

I recommend providing explanations that are "general enough" for all to understand. Unless, of course, there is a particular coding issue for a particular PLC... but even then, the reply should include a general explanation of the concept for those that use other PLCs.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2005, 08:36 PM   #7
RussB
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

RussB is offline
 
RussB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoxerBrats
Hi i am building a program on a 450 AD plc with a EZ-Touch screen.
I did not know that there were PLCs back in 450 AD, were they made by Rockwell?
__________________
LEARN something today so you can TEACH something tomorrow.
DETAIL in your question promotes DETAIL in my answer.
Dominus Vobiscum <))>(
"Where is the wisdom that we have lost in knowledge?" T.S. Elliot


  Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2005, 08:54 PM   #8
elevmike
Member
United States

elevmike is offline
 
elevmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 4,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by RussB
I did not know that there were PLCs back in 450 AD, were they made by Rockwell?
Funny...450 AD was kinda the "dark ages" but 450 BC or there abouts the Greeks had all kinds of mechanical controllers & computers for time keeping and navagational pourposes..Then came the Romans, and burnt it all down..


Keeping trak of hours shouldnt be too diffucult. The built in 1 min clock pulse contact would cycle counter 1 (set for 60) to track minutes, and Counter 1 would cycle Counter 2 to track hours (up to 9999 hours)+ 60 = 10000 hours = up to 42 days. If you need more then add another counter to track days.. and so on.
__________________
If you think you can do a thing or think you can't do a thing, you're probably right.... Henry Ford
  Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2005, 10:12 PM   #9
ayman metwally
Lifetime Supporting Member
Egypt

ayman metwally is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cairo
Posts: 258
BoxerBrates,

As long as you are using AD PLC, You can use the "Accumulating timer", It has many advanatges than the normal timer:

1- It has a "RESET" input, which is required to intialize the value of this timer. This is because it is "Accumulating", not like the normal timer which resets whenever its "input" goes OFF.
This well help you to easily calculate how many hours the Motor were ruuning even if it's stopped and ran many times.

2- The "Preset" value for this "Accumulating timer" can hold a relative high value (9999999 ?) which can represent many weeks!
Refer to the manual to check this value.

If its "Preset" value is still lower than what you want, then you should use a counter in conjunction with this timer.

Just an idea
__________________
Ayman Metwally

Last edited by ayman metwally; April 14th, 2005 at 10:17 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2005, 08:32 AM   #10
Tom Jenkins
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Tom Jenkins is offline
 
Tom Jenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 5,287
This is how I do it. I use one field on the HMI with one decimal place to show 00.0 to 99.9 and another field right next to it to display the higher values.


0015 82.5 for example is 1,582.5 hours. You can adjust the scaling to suit your needs.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Hourmeter.pdf (9.1 KB, 39 views)
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hour meter fo ti505 programming bdonohue LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 January 26th, 2005 05:09 AM
Basic Timer Setup th1nker LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 17 January 25th, 2005 10:00 AM
Slightly off topic: parallel pulse from meter Ken Moore LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 September 15th, 2004 07:38 PM
Hour Meter with PLC Interface BudWright LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 November 23rd, 2003 05:35 PM
Hour Meter in Program? solder jockey LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 September 24th, 2002 09:33 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 AM.


.