You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 19th, 2005, 01:26 PM   #1
georgeofthejungle02
Member
Canada

georgeofthejungle02 is offline
 
georgeofthejungle02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 60
Time Preset/Accm adjustments using Logix 5000

I am just curious as to who else run into this little annoying problem.
In process control, we use timers all the time ie, adjusting filtration cycle timers etc., and the preset and accumulated value needs to be adjusted in either seconds, minutes or hours
Using panelview plus HMI, the timer preset in the logix 5000 are all in milliseconds, and I have to manually convert the hours, minutes and seconds to millisecs. I am wondering if anyone else runs into this problem. Why can't there be a built in time base convertor that automatically adjust the entered hours or minutes to millisec?
Thanks for listening,
George
  Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2009, 11:38 AM   #2
edwardt
Member
United States

edwardt is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 13
if you are using V16 or higher, create an add-on instruction that does that for you. I have one built and wouldn't mind sharing it.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2009, 11:49 AM   #3
widelto
Member
Colombia

widelto is offline
 
widelto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: barranquilla
Posts: 2,533
Using and AOI is a good idea, but if you have no experience with AOIs you can easily multiply the value you enter in you HMI (second, minutes or hours ) times 1000, 60000, 3600000 respectively and put the results in timer.pre location as desired.
__________________
My two cents.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2009, 11:53 AM   #4
edwardt
Member
United States

edwardt is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 13
Correct. I have an instruction that will do that or it will convert miliseconds to hours:minutes:seconds. I often use those for "time remaining" functions. Basically there is a bit that you set in the instruction and it will either convert up or convert down automatically.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2011, 09:38 AM   #5
paulB
Member
United States

paulB is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 142
Edwardt,or someone else.

Do you mind to share this instruction?

Thank you,

PaulB
  Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2011, 11:52 AM   #6
edwardt
Member
United States

edwardt is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 13
I've attached two files. One is for converting to mS, and the other is used for showing time remaining from a timer. This useful when wanting to display this on an operator interface.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Time Conversion AOIs.zip (2.3 KB, 413 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2011, 12:12 PM   #7
paulB
Member
United States

paulB is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 142
Thank you
  Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2011, 07:50 PM   #8
Plastic
Member
United States

Plastic is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 244
No ladder required

When creating the numeric entry/display at the Panelview Plus..

For Seconds, where you have the TAG for indicator, just append /1000. Where you have the TAG for the write value, add the expression *1000

For Minutes, where you have the TAG for indicator, just append /60000. Where you have the TAG for the write value, add the expression *60000

For Hours, where you have the TAG for indicator, just append /360000. Where you have the TAG for the write value, add the expression *360000.

That is all there is to it. It is much like the Panelview Standard TAG SCALE function.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2018, 04:59 AM   #9
tomthelampy
Member
United Kingdom

tomthelampy is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Bath
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by edwardt View Post
I've attached two files. One is for converting to mS, and the other is used for showing time remaining from a timer. This useful when wanting to display this on an operator interface.
Amazing, exactly what I needed, Thank you!

Tom.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2018, 07:05 PM   #10
daba
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United Kingdom

daba is offline
 
daba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: uk
Posts: 4,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgeofthejungle02 View Post
I am just curious as to who else run into this little annoying problem.
In process control, we use timers all the time ie, adjusting filtration cycle timers etc., and the preset and accumulated value needs to be adjusted in either seconds, minutes or hours
I'm just curious why the PLC code ever needs to adjust the accumulated time... ?
__________________
___________________________
ControlLogix & SLC Training
a-b train ltd.
abtrain@tiscali.co.uk
www.abtrain.co.uk
tel: 07506 73 9999
nil illegitimi carborundem


  Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2018, 10:21 PM   #11
JaxGTO
Member
United States

JaxGTO is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kalieefornia
Posts: 564
The Rockwell examples download page has lots of time AOI's.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Logix 5000 install problem smiller LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 16 May 26th, 2015 09:47 PM
RS Logix 5000 instruction stantana LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 April 9th, 2008 08:25 AM
RSLogix 5000 V15 Features Samneggs LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 April 20th, 2006 05:45 PM
RS Logix 5000 Licensing Question ndzied1 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 March 6th, 2005 09:44 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 AM.


.