You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 22nd, 2005, 04:27 AM   #1
joku
Member
United Kingdom

joku is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Question rack mounted plc

can anyone give me a model make of a rack mounted plc system please.
and if you can its approximate cost and application in industry.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2005, 06:20 AM   #2
randylud
Member
United States

randylud is offline
 
randylud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Greensboro,NC
Posts: 933
Try www.google.com they have great resouces for such things, or you can search on this site under the topic you are interested in.
__________________
Thunder is good, thunder is impressive; but it is lightning that does the work!
Mark Twain-8/28/1908
  Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2005, 08:24 AM   #3
Tom Jenkins
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Tom Jenkins is offline
 
Tom Jenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 5,890
Go to any manufacturer's site for examples. Some, such as AutomationDirect.com have prices right on the site.

You would use a racke mounted system for any machine or process control that you need to automate, from making ice cream to truck frame welding. The choice between rack and brick micro-PLCs (unitary) is usually based on I/O count, although rack type units usually have more program memory as well.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2005, 08:54 AM   #4
joku
Member
United Kingdom

joku is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
thanks for the help tom
__________________
hello
  Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2005, 11:44 PM   #5
CaseyK
Member
United States

CaseyK is offline
 
CaseyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In the cornfields, on the prarie, outside Chi-Town, a few miles beyond the boondocks.
Posts: 1,731
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by joku
can anyone give me a model make of a rack mounted plc system please. and if you can its approximate cost and application in industry.
A nicely outfitted GE Fanuc 9030 rack will run about $2500. Buy some of it as a tool box starter kit, and get the software for FREE.

A similar Allen Bradley rack, with modules, cann cost over $23,000, not counting the additional you have to pay for the software, or tech support.

Go to eBay, spend a few hundred $.

Go to Entertron.com, and get a nifty PLC. Wait, you said rack mounted. Entertron makes a plc that IS NOT rack bouned, but a circuit board. Actually, several different models. On the small end, is the SmartPak series. One is even 12 voult, so you can do neat stuph for your car. Sequential turn signals perhaps, or a host of "lighting" things, or maybe an autostart control, with shutdown protections. Several larger models, too.

Why a rack mount?

With an Entertron full function larger PLC, or a versatle GE Fanuc 64 I/O micro, why a rack mount?

I have done a lot of controls with one and rwo racks (ten slot GE), but even more 14 and 28 point micros. With expansion modules available, and prices comig down, racks are becoming less Cost Effective and Space Effective.

I do like Eric's slope front panel with a three slot rack, with its 24 I/O in a 8 x 12 enclosure. "LINK"

regards.....casey
__________________
73 de casey nine eye aitch
  Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2005, 05:06 PM   #6
Leadfoot
Member
United States

Leadfoot is offline
 
Leadfoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Red Stick, Cajun Land
Posts: 577
Rack Mounts are a throw back to BACK PLANES, IMO. You used the slots you needed.

With today's technologies, there are ones that din rail mount which I believe are more flexible for packaging and future expansion.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2005, 03:22 AM   #7
Eric Nelson
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Eric Nelson is offline
 
Eric Nelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 4,346
Quote:
Originally Posted by kc9ih
I do like Eric's slope front panel with a three slot rack, with its 24 I/O in a 8 x 12 enclosure. "LINK"
You're 44 minutes late, Casey. Look at your contract. It ended at midnight (EST) on Wednesday, the 22nd. I'm sorry, but you will not be receiving a commission on this most recent link...



-Eric
  Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2005, 03:30 PM   #8
CaseyK
Member
United States

CaseyK is offline
 
CaseyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In the cornfields, on the prarie, outside Chi-Town, a few miles beyond the boondocks.
Posts: 1,731
Lightbulb

Rats, that time zone / daylights savings thing got me again.

I'll through the cash for the penalty into e-mail tonight.

Sorry...casey
__________________
73 de casey nine eye aitch
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC to PLC Protocol TheRixta LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 December 17th, 2008 12:56 PM
Lightening effect on PLC patelbaroda LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 September 27th, 2007 08:53 PM
PLC for CNC toolchanger snaggletto LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 July 2nd, 2004 02:24 PM
PLC to PLC remote control of mobile crawler Larry LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 June 20th, 2004 08:42 PM
Normally open or closed or... Phil Melore LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 February 3rd, 2003 07:14 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 PM.


.