You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 12th, 2002, 07:37 PM   #1
microthene
Member
United States

microthene is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4
timers for ge fanuc

does anyone know how to increase the amount of time that a timer can time?

i cant get more than 3000 seconds out of any of the timers.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2002, 08:00 PM   #2
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is offline
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 6,534
The maximum value for the preset in any of the timer functions is 32767, and the timer resolution can be tenths, hundredths, or thousandths of a second, so the longest time interval that a single timer can measure is 3276.7 seconds.

To handle longer increments you need to use some other technique. The most common is to use one timer that times up to 60 seconds and resets itself. Every time the timer gets to seconds, have it increment a counter. The accumulated value in the counter will be minutes, and the accumulated value in the timer will be seconds.

If you can stand the lack of resolution, %S0006 is a contact that stays on for 30 seconds, then goes off for 30 seconds. You could use it as the trigger for the minutes counter.

There are other methods you could use, but these are the most common.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2002, 08:13 PM   #3
microthene
Member
United States

microthene is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4
im not sure how that would work.

i am trying to turn on two outputs for 15 minutes every 8 hours.
the only way i know to do this is by using 9 ontimers that turn the next one on
  Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2002, 08:26 PM   #4
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is offline
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 6,534
8 hours is 480 minutes. Use the %S0006 bit to trigger a counter. When the counter accumulated value is greater than or equal to 480, turn on your outputs. When the counter accumulated value reaches 495, reset the timer and start over.

If you want to turn on the outputs at a specific time of day, and you have a 90-30 CPU331 or higher, or any VersaPro or 90-70, you can read the PLC's internal clock/calendar to determine when to turn on the outputs and use a timer to set the 15 minute on duration.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A little question about S7 IEC timers. JesperMP LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 December 10th, 2016 11:51 AM
How AB Timers work. PhilipW LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 January 28th, 2005 02:47 PM
Siemens S7-300 Timers Mylo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 17 October 16th, 2003 01:06 PM
omron h3ca-a timers ready961 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 March 12th, 2003 10:11 AM
Fanuc Robot Problem cdlove23 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 August 16th, 2002 09:09 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.


.