You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 15th, 2005, 10:38 PM   #1
atgroff
Member
United States

atgroff is offline
 
atgroff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mid Missouri
Posts: 8
Allen-Bradley RIO

Doing a project with RIO and have my program wrote and my panels prewired. Some circumstances have changed and I might be able to add another section of RIO to simplify the wiring.

A brief description of what I have:

Main rack with RIO Scanner - which goes to the next rack
Logical Rack 0 Group 0 3/4 Rack - goes to
Logical Rack 1 Group 0 1/2 Rack - goes to
RIO PanelView Logical Rack 3 Group 0 Full Rack



What I need to is add a new RIO rack between the Main Rack and the 1st RIO rack, but I do not want to go back and change all the addresses in my program and rewire my panels. This is what I would have after adding the new RIO rack:

Main rack with RIO Scanner - which goes to the next rack
Logical Rack 2 Group 0 3/4 Rack - goes to
Logical Rack 0 Group 0 3/4 Rack - goes to
Logical Rack 1 Group 0 1/2 Rack - goes to
RIO PanelView Logical Rack 3 Group 0 Full Rack


Will this work or am silly for even thinking that?
  Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2005, 10:42 PM   #2
jstolaruk
Member
United States

jstolaruk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 2,150
It shouldn't matter what order the connection is in as long as you follow AB's specifications for wiring and termination. (I'm assuming the 1/2 and 3/4 rack addressing will work).
__________________
"You can live to be a hundred if you give up all the things that make you want to live to be a hundred." Woody Allen
  Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2005, 11:36 PM   #3
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 10,104
The wiring topology doesn't matter at all; only the logical rack settings affect where the data goes in SLC scanner memory.

Go ahead !
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Learning Allen Bradley mbferrari LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 March 11th, 2009 11:25 AM
Wincc 6.0 and Allen Bradley PKTX 1784. nistam LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 March 31st, 2004 10:19 AM
Ab Plc5 Rio Problem. fernandes LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 March 7th, 2004 01:25 PM
Need Help with allen bradley mneumonic explanation Ctrayler LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 February 26th, 2004 01:23 PM
Allen Bradley 5/40L with local I/O extension nfvtmeinc LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 June 10th, 2003 09:55 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 PM.


.