You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 31st, 2006, 08:38 PM   #1
garret
Member
Ireland

garret is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: ireland
Posts: 2
cpu fault on allen bradley slc500

can you tell me how to clear a cpu fault,and what would have caused it
  Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2006, 09:05 PM   #2
bernie_carlton
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

bernie_carlton is offline
 
bernie_carlton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 5,407
The fault light, if solid, generally indicates a hardware failure. If blinking usually indicates a problem with the application. To get any more specific requires numbers only obtainable by hooking up the programming software and reading the specific fault. Then more detailed advice can be given. Your question is a little like 'my car stopped, what's wrong?'
__________________
Controlling outputs is the PLC's way of getting its inputs to change.

www.thePLCguy.com
  Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2006, 09:14 PM   #3
dalem
Member
United States

dalem is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NE Wisconsin
Posts: 101
Cycling the power (rebooting) the PLC might handle it. Depends on what the fault is and what caused it. I had one fixed PLC that did this periodically. Always had to re-download the program to it. Then I added an EEPROM and programmed it to load from the EEPROM at each cycling of the power. (Only cycled the power when the CPU faulted out. The problem progressively got worse though. Come to find out, a capacitor or 2 on the powersupply (built into the fixed processor) had become desoldered from the circuit card, which must have been causing surges.

Another thing I recently did, was to do some math instructions, which caused math over flows, which caused the CPU faults. This was in a project, I was working on, off to the side, and basically, I did it on purpose.

Some CPU faults can only be reset if you have the SLC500 programming software. If such is the case and the program is not lost in the PLC, should be able to go online and see what caused the error. This would be found in the processor status, under the errors tab. With out the programming software and/or a backup copy of the application, you might be in trouble.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2006, 11:04 PM   #4
TConnolly
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

TConnolly is offline
 
TConnolly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 6,001
If you have a SLC 5/03, 5/04 or 5/05 you can change the keyswitch to program, then back to run. This will clear a fault and resume the program. If you have RSLogix 500 or know someone who does I recommend connecting to the PLC and finding out why it faulted by checking the fault code.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RSLogix User Fault Routine jthornton LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 17 October 23rd, 2008 02:55 PM
How To Make Connection With Allen Bradley Cpu En The Sst Profibus Scanner??? sinanawchi LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 February 25th, 2005 05:54 PM
Profibus SST card and Allen Bradley SLC500 Derick123 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 July 14th, 2004 09:42 AM
Gp 2501s with allen bradley SLC 05/3 cpu h_wings LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 November 2nd, 2003 12:44 AM
1200 series ALLEN BRADLEY PLC WHAT ARE THE REASON IT GO IN THE FAULT MODE?IT IS NOT pcontrol LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 December 19th, 2002 12:12 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 PM.


.