You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 25th, 2006, 09:55 AM   #1
tischer
Member
Czech_Republic

tischer is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Jablonec nad Nisou
Posts: 13
S7 Mmc

Hi every body,

last two weeks I was working on understanding what are S7-31x MMCs. In the end I collected following information
:

64KB-4MB SIEMENS MMC cards are standard 16MB MMCs with special SIEMENS format. Datasheet at http://www.tischer.cz/HB28D032MM2-RENESAS.pdf.

8MB SIEMENS MMCs are the same but 32MB MMCs.

You can make bit copy of these MMCs by using tools at http://personal.telefonica.terra.es/web/suwe in standard MMC/SD card reader. By using this tools you also copy the special SIEMENS format.

But in case you would like to use non SIEMENS 16MB or 32MB MMC, you cant use it in S7 as every MMC has private CID and CSD register where are stored informacion as OEM/APPLICATION ID, PRODUCT NAME, .... . The example of SIEMENS 64KB MMC is at http://www.tischer.cz/64kb.txt. CID is OTP register and first 14 bytes of CSD are programed only by manufacturer. S7 checks and compares stored info. from CID and CSD.

If you have SIEMENS MMC accidentaly formated in standard MMC/SD card reader/writer (for example as FAT format) you can repair it in this standard MMC/SD reader/writer.
1. read original SIEMENS MMC by S7imgrd (the same size as failed card)
2. write this image to failed MMC by S7imgwr

When I was analyzing MMCs I also find out how is the password stored at the MMC.

If you have any question, email me at tischer@atlas.cz

  Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2006, 04:22 AM   #2
hbojan
Member
Slovenia

hbojan is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: sezana
Posts: 3
Hello,

Im try this up operation with MMC card. But without any success.

Card MMC
64kB equal number

Read and write functian with success, but PLC not recognite the MMC card
Im think the problem is not correct format of MMC card.

Bojan
  Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2006, 04:39 AM   #3
tischer
Member
Czech_Republic

tischer is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Jablonec nad Nisou
Posts: 13
Hello,

Try this:
  • 1.Read the image from original card
  • 2.Write this image to the wrong card
  • 3.Read the image from wrong card
  • 4.Compare images from the original and wrong cards.


If the images are the same, send me the image from wrong card and the the part number of this card and I’ll look at it.

Regards Petr
  Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2006, 10:46 AM   #4
tischer
Member
Czech_Republic

tischer is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Jablonec nad Nisou
Posts: 13
New procedure

Hello,

I'm sorry, I have made mistake in description, if you need to make true bit copy of MMC card or you want to repair failed MMC card, you have to use WinHex program (http://www.x-ways.net/winhex/index-m.html).

Here is a procedure:
a) read the original MMC in 2 steps
1. http://www.tischer.cz/mmc1.jpg
2. http://www.tischer.cz/mmc2.jpg


64KB image http://www.tischer.cz/64KB.zip
8MB image http://www.tischer.cz/8MB.zip

b) write the original image into failed MMC
1. http://www.tischer.cz/mmc4.jpg
2. http://www.tischer.cz/mmc5.jpg
dont you afraid if you receive the following notice
3. http://www.tischer.cz/mmc5.jpg

!!!! S7imgrd and S7imgwr don't make true bit copy of MMC!!!!

Petr
tischer@atlas.cz
  Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2006, 07:38 PM   #5
appleplc07
Member
Malaysia

appleplc07 is offline
 
appleplc07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 25
Can we use RS-MMC instead of the normal MMC ?
  Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2006, 01:31 AM   #6
tischer
Member
Czech_Republic

tischer is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Jablonec nad Nisou
Posts: 13
Rs Mmc

In S7 device you can't use normal MMC as S7 needs card with special record in CID and CSD registters (http://www.tischer.cz/64kb.txt).
But for backup made by WinHex (not for use in S7) you can use any MMC or RS-MMC.

Last edited by tischer; April 5th, 2006 at 01:38 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2006, 02:00 AM   #7
tischer
Member
Czech_Republic

tischer is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Jablonec nad Nisou
Posts: 13
password protection

I'v received lots of e-mails with question how is the the password stored at MMC. At the moment I don't want to public this information but if you send me per e-mail copy of the MMC made by WinHex, I send you the password FOC.

e-mail: tischer@atlas.cz
  Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2006, 06:13 AM   #8
appleplc07
Member
Malaysia

appleplc07 is offline
 
appleplc07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 25
So if i understand u correctly, it means we must always use the MMC card provided by Siemens. Other normal MMC made by WinHex is also not possible to use on the Siemens PLC. Correct?
  Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2006, 06:50 AM   #9
tischer
Member
Czech_Republic

tischer is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Jablonec nad Nisou
Posts: 13
You are right, but you can use MMC from other manufacturer if CID and CSD records in the MMC match the SIEMENS CID, CSD records.

64KB-4MB SIEMENS MMC cards work on the same hardware (16MB MMC), 8MB SIEMENS MMC are 32MB MMC.

You can't copy format from 4MB card to 64KB as 4MB and 64KB cards work at the same hardware because have diferent CID records.

S7s recognise MMC size from CID, CSD and card format. All these three records must match.

CID and CSD records are OTP (one time programable by manufacturer)In CSD register last 8 bits and CRC are partialy user programable.

I have made my oven CID and CSD card reader/writer and have programed simple C++ program as I hadn't been able to find any standard MMC reader with posibility to read and write CSD register.

At the moment I look for any china supplier who will be able supply me with the MMC programed as SIEMENS MMC. If I am succesfull, the price of 8MB MMC will be about 40-50 USD.

Petr

Last edited by tischer; April 5th, 2006 at 06:58 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2006, 03:53 PM   #10
EKBist
Member
Russian Federation

EKBist is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: City
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by tischer
When I was analyzing MMCs I also find out how is the password stored at the MMC
Unlock password for S7-300 MMC
You can use image file from MMC by S7imgRD.exe or WINHEX
http://rapidshare.de/files/17714513/S7_Unlock.rar.html
  Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2006, 05:15 PM   #11
tischer
Member
Czech_Republic

tischer is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Jablonec nad Nisou
Posts: 13
As you have got program for unprotecting S7 pwd, here is algorithm how is the pwd protected. http://rapidshare.de/files/18271865/crypt_MMC.zip.html

Petr
  Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2006, 03:58 PM   #12
jcarlos
Member
Austria

jcarlos is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12
Hi everybody,

the S7ImgRd and S7ImgWr are updated. You can now try to bring back accidently formated MMC with other images.

Also the Password thing, earlier posted here, is build in, but please dont violate copyright.

http://personal.telefonica.terra.es/web/suwe/
  Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2006, 06:36 AM   #13
zova
Member
Russian Federation

zova is offline
 
zova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Russia, Komi
Posts: 116
2mb

Hi ALL!

I need in 2MB S7 MMC image.
512KB and 4MB images are in attachment.

Thanks in advance.
Attached Files
File Type: zip imb 512kb.zip (15.9 KB, 3701 views)
File Type: zip imb 4mb.zip (15.8 KB, 2658 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2006, 07:13 AM   #14
tischer
Member
Czech_Republic

tischer is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Jablonec nad Nisou
Posts: 13
4 --> 2MB

You can use 4MB image for 2MB card. The part, where is stored information that the size of the card is 2MB is write protected and the rest of the format is the same for both cards.

Petr
  Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2006, 11:50 AM   #15
zova
Member
Russian Federation

zova is offline
 
zova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Russia, Komi
Posts: 116
2mb

I have tried it. However unsuccessful...

To-size image of 64KB card is working perfectly.
Both cards (64KB and 2MB) were accidentally FAT formatted.
So my last cast is 2MB card image.

Please help me.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S7 Mmc Card Erwin Nußbaum LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 35 December 5th, 2014 05:20 AM
S7 300 Mmc marsu1821 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 June 15th, 2010 06:43 AM
Siemens S5 and S7 Dual Masters for Profibus daveswerld LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 December 16th, 2008 02:15 AM
how to start work with CPU 315C-2DP and MMC RMA LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 November 23rd, 2005 01:41 PM
S7 Mmc reg LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 March 18th, 2005 07:50 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 PM.


.