You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 28th, 2006, 02:58 PM   #1
Jimmie_Ohio
Member
United States

Jimmie_Ohio is offline
 
Jimmie_Ohio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 492
Non-AB EDS File for RS NetWorx for DeviceNet

I'm tired of posting my own lame responses to other people's problems, so today I will post a problem of my own and draw off the experience of others...Thanks in advance to any and all that help!

I am working on a DeviceNet project (first ever from scratch). I have set up my network and am trying to attach to each component using the latest RS NetWorx for DeviceNet. I am using a 1770-KFD attached to my computer's serial port.

I have no problem whatsoever "talking" to each of my PointBlock I/O modules (catalog # 1734D-IB8XOB8E).

I also have some speed switches in this project from Electro-Sensors (SpeedTalker DN-XP). The vendor was kind enough to let me borrow one to play with since the ones we purchased went directly to the jobsite. The switch came with a CD containing the latest EDS file which uploaded fine. I can obtain information from the switch and configure parameters while online with it.

The only other components are from Cutler-Hammer. One device is a DN65 I/O module and the other is the DeviceNet communication module for the SVX9000 variable frequency drive.

Here's my problem, I downloaded the EDS's from Cutler-Hammer's website. Although they "look" like EDS's (the website shows them with the .eds file extension) the file gets saved as a text file.

How in the world do I convert the text file to .eds file extension so RS NetWorx "finds" it in the EDS Wizard? The RS NetWorx software "help" is extensive, as long as the DeviceNet component is from A-B.
__________________
"Invention is 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration - Edison." This explains why so many engineers smell so bad...
  Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2006, 03:12 PM   #2
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 10,651
It might be as simple as changing the file extension from .TXT to .EDS.

A hint about the RSNetworx EDS file wizard; never place an EDS file directly into the Rockwell Software/RSCommon/EDS directory. Let RSNetworx put it there with the proper name (which is based on the Identity Object) and do it's Windows Registry thing.
__________________
"Time cannot be purchased at any price."
  Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2006, 03:14 PM   #3
kamenges
Member
United States

kamenges is offline
 
kamenges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Brillion, WI
Posts: 3,073
EDS files are just text files. You can open any EDS file using any text editor. Just change the extension to .eds and you should be good to go.


Keith
  Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2006, 03:15 PM   #4
rgurin
Member
United States

rgurin is offline
 
rgurin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 230
Stating the obvious?

I may be oversimplifying things, but can you change the extension on the downloaded files from ".txt" back to ".eds"?

Rick

Edit: Looks like I was beat to the punch...twice!
  Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2006, 03:22 PM   #5
Jimmie_Ohio
Member
United States

Jimmie_Ohio is offline
 
Jimmie_Ohio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 492
Thanks Ken, Keith and Rick for the fast responses. All it took was changing the file extension to .EDS

I did read all I could in A-B's knowledgebase about this, but it always assumes you have an EDS to start with before you can edit the text file or upload a new one to replace the old.

I even tried adding the node in RS NetWorx and everything is happy. Thanks again.
__________________
"Invention is 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration - Edison." This explains why so many engineers smell so bad...
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rexroth eds file help needed ukguy777 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 March 23rd, 2006 08:09 AM
DeviceNet eds file Oboy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 16 June 1st, 2005 09:51 PM
PowerFlex 70 and its EDS file LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 February 16th, 2005 01:09 PM
Need ControlNet eds file for sst profibus scanner matt_o LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 July 9th, 2003 11:21 PM
Data Tables bosshen LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 April 28th, 2003 06:30 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 PM.


.