You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 1st, 2006, 01:33 PM   #1
racso
Member
Canada

racso is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: dresden, Ontario
Posts: 1
configuring Remote I/O with SLC 5/04

I don't have very much experience with remote I/O. Thought I'd throw that on the table right away.
This is an existing system that my customer requires an addition to:
My question:
As I have as posted above I have a SLC 5/04. The 1747-SN is configured as follows: 1/2 to robot 1, 1/2 to robot 2, 1/4 rack logical rack 1, 1/4 rack logical rack 2, 1/4 rack logical rack 3.
How much spare do I have left?

Does anyone know a good link for a configuring Remote I/O addresing? eg. number of racks (restrictions), 1 slot/2 slot addressing etc.

Thanks in advance.
RaCsO
  Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2006, 02:27 PM   #2
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 10,660
The best configuration manual for Remote I/O on the SLC controller family is the 1747-SN User Manual.

Publication 1747-UM013.

A 1747-SN scanner can scan four Logical Racks, numbered 0, 1, 2, 3.

Each physical device on the network can use one or more Logical Racks worth of address space.

It sounds like you have five physical devices:

Rack 0 1/2 Rack Device 1
Rack 0 1/2 Rack Device 2
Rack 1 1/4 Rack Device 3
Rack 2 1/4 Rack Device 4
Rack 3 1/4 Rack Device 5

Rack 0 is fully utilized, but 3/4 rack worth of address space is not use on Racks 1, 2, and 3.

If you were to take Devices 3,4,5 and consolidate them into Rack 1 by addressing them as different starting Groups, you could free up address space for more devices. As it is, you would have to place new devices into the unused portions of Logical Racks 1, 2, and 3.

This whole "Rack, Group, Slot" addressing system is archaic and dates from the PLC-2 era of the late Seventies, but it's also the reason for the near immortality of the A-B Universal Remote I/O protocol.
__________________
"Time cannot be purchased at any price."
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2006, 09:45 AM   #3
504bloke
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
England

504bloke is offline
 
504bloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: West Ssx
Posts: 2,635
Another way if you dont want to mess with the existing is to put another SN card in the plc rack (if there is space) and use that for the new RIO.

Also if the new RIO Rack is only say a 1/4 or 1/2 and needs to be in the panel where there is already a 1/4 or 1/2 RIO rack, then you can just add to it (if there is space) and reassign the IO etc to make a 1/2, 3/4 or Full Rack.

Are you adding just Digital IO or Analogue as there are issues with Analogue and youll need to Block Transfer to get the data out or in.
__________________
Regards

Dave



"When you are courting a nice girl an hour seems like a second. When you sit on a red-hot cinder a second seems like an hour. That's relativity."
Albert Einstein (1879-1955)
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Controllogix elledge LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 43 February 12th, 2014 03:55 AM
Allen Bradley Basic Card XEV2005 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 19 March 22nd, 2012 02:28 PM
Remote I/O Flex I/O Quick Change Tooling Fixture TamHoNutech LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 September 29th, 2005 05:46 PM
SLC 5/04 - I/O bit forcing ade LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 June 7th, 2005 01:18 PM
Slc 5/04 I/o cds LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 October 31st, 2003 10:25 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 PM.


.