You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 13th, 2006, 08:29 PM   #1
Philadelphia Frank
Member
United States

Philadelphia Frank is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 75
Siemens S7 Connection to a PC

How can I connect a Siemens 314 CPU to my laptop? I'm sure Siemens will have just what I need, and I'll pony up the money if I have to, but is there any after market (cheaper) parts that will work?

I bought a package deal off Ebay that included an HMI adapter 6ES7-972-0CA10 0XA0. That seems too be a connection to an HMI device but will it work as a PC programmer?

I just need something to play with, it isn't for a job or anything.

Thank you for your help;
Frank
  Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2006, 08:46 PM   #2
JRW
Member
United States

JRW is offline
 
JRW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Upstate South Cackalacky
Posts: 1,667
Frank,

Unfortunately the HMI adpater will not work for programming. I've only seen a couple of HMI packages that use the HMI adapter (CTC is one of them)
You will need the PC adapter, there is a USB version and serial version. The best is the PCMCIA, but it will run you about $900.00
The PC adapters are around $300-350 (if I remember correctly)

Last edited by JRW; November 13th, 2006 at 08:55 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2006, 08:50 PM   #3
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 5,648
Frank,

I think that cable is for the HMI only, you can check here for a cable http://www.ttintl.com/english/index_1.html, search around there are others that have them, did you check ebay for the cable?

I think the Siemens p/n is 6ES7972-0CA23-0XA0
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2006, 08:27 AM   #4
Philadelphia Frank
Member
United States

Philadelphia Frank is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 75
Thank you for the help.

Frank
  Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2006, 08:56 AM   #5
EKBist
Member
Russian Federation

EKBist is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: City
Posts: 101
If you don't want problems

  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Siemens or Omron? Gromit LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 35 November 14th, 2017 09:44 AM
PID auto tuning for S7 Siemens Nico Viet LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 June 24th, 2010 03:59 AM
Siemens CP343-1 U_SEND & U_RECV and S7 connection protocol Esa LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 August 14th, 2006 03:19 AM
Question on siemens S7 and CP343-1 marl LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 June 29th, 2006 02:21 PM
Setting up CP 343-1 card (siemens) Johnny T LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 35 August 19th, 2005 06:58 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49 PM.


.