You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 28th, 2006, 02:58 PM   #1
SCRUFF
Member
United States

SCRUFF is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 14
Control Logix - Redundant Processors

I have a PLC setup that is currently running two (A Redundant) Control logix Processors - a Primary and Seconday.

One important note to mention is that I am a newbie to Control Logix and this is my first Redundant Processors. I am trying to test the swapping of processors by disconnecting the fiber on the Primary Processor to see if the Secondary picks up. It does swap but the Secondary CPU does not swap to run mode. you have to physically select RUN for theSecondary and the same when swapping form the Secondary to the Primary.

Can any guru help me out on how to get the Processors (either one) to swap and come up running after the swap???

THANK YOU...
  Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2006, 04:05 PM   #2
Black Jack
Member
United States

Black Jack is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northwest
Posts: 30
If the processors are set up correctly and both powered up, one should indicate primary the other secondary on the led display. Sometimes it takes a few minutes after power up to sync the two. The first chassis powered up will be the primary.

After the two are synchronized, kill the power to the primary and the secondary should automatically become the primary and continue running the logic as if nothing happened. When the power is restored, that PLC will sync back up and become the secondary.

If you disconnect the fiber connection, you are eliminating the synchronizing functionality of the two processors and it will probably go into some non-redundant state and unable to switch over.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2006, 04:11 PM   #3
Contr_Conn
Member
United States

Contr_Conn is offline
 
Contr_Conn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,957
If you want test switchover, then disconnect controlnet or ethernet cable, don't touch redundancy fiber.

If fiber disconnected secondary will disqualify and redundancy will not switch over if primary turned off.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2006, 11:42 PM   #4
rPraveenkum
Member
India

rPraveenkum is offline
 
rPraveenkum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chennai
Posts: 876
Redundancy has to tasted by Killing power to primary, disconnecting the controlnet communication

Note:-
when changing the mode of the primary processor will also changes the mode of the secondary processor
__________________
.................................................. .................................................. ..........................................
.................................................. .................................................. ..........................................
PRAVEEN KUMAR
http://www.praveen.envy.nu
Life is like butterfly, handle with care - Praveen
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Flex, Drive Logix and Control Logix Tim LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 January 4th, 2007 05:37 PM
Control Logix Redundant System plcnovel LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 August 22nd, 2006 01:12 AM
Producer Consumer Messging between Control Logix & Compact Logix plcnovel LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 July 24th, 2006 10:04 AM
Honeywell Control builder Sychronization on redundant servers asim_rana LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 August 11th, 2005 09:08 AM
Control Logix Redundant System SHINE LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 April 3rd, 2004 02:54 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03 PM.


.