PLC control of light from 2 separate switches

plc_heaven

Hi. I'm a newbie to PLC's. I need to control a lamp from two separate switches - much like two three-way switches would control a light in the hallway of your house. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Welcome to the forum.

While we are usually more than willing to help people new to PLCs, we generally do not do homework assignments here. If you get stuck we will be happy to help however. Here is what you need to do: Describe how you think the problem could be solved, and state that in some way or attach a sketch of what you think you will need for a ladder. Tell us what has you stumped, and you will get lots of help, but you need to show some effort first.

Here is a hint to get you started: When 3 way switches are both in the same state, the light is off, but if they are in different states, then the light is on. Now state that in a boolean statement and convert it to ladder.

Hi Alaric. I have tried several ways. I can get the light to turn on from both switches and I make obviously make it turn off from the switch that turned it on. I just can't make it turn off from the opposite switch. I put one EIC switch. Then I do a rung branch and install the other EIC switch. Lastly I installed the Output Energize. I realize that by doing this I have essentially made an "OR" statement allowing power to flow through the switch and to the light through either switch. I think I need an "AND" statement that will require input from both switches before the light will come on. I think this will allow me to turn off the lamp from either switch. How am I doing so far?? Thanks for your help. I'm more used to residential, commercial, and industrial wiring and am having trouble switching to thinking of things in straight line code if you will. Thanks.