You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 14th, 2007, 08:53 PM   #1
nur
Member
Malaysia

nur is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: terengganu
Posts: 5
Smile Ladder diagram PLC OMRON using PID controller

hello..i need ur advice..i'm doing a project about PID controller based on PLC .Now,i quite confuse on how to implement PID in PLC.Can you give an example of ladder diagram using PID algorithm IN PLC..thank you
  Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2007, 02:49 AM   #2
BobB
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

BobB is offline
 
BobB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,643
Which PLC? The latest ones have manual PID and auto tune 2 degree of freedom PID built in.

You really should look at the manual - all is explained there. Also if you search at this site there are plenty of topics on PID - some very complex - and feed forward also. Lots can be learned by searchibg.
__________________
The Old Pfhaart

  Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2007, 03:18 AM   #3
Peter Nachtwey
Member
United States

Peter Nachtwey is offline
 
Peter Nachtwey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Vancouver, WA, UMSA, United Marxist States of America
Posts: 5,889
Slightly OT

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobB
2 degree of freedom PID built in.
What does two degrees of freedom do for you?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2007, 03:00 PM   #4
BobB
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

BobB is offline
 
BobB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,643
Sounds like a good marketing tool does it not?

Not much actually as I am not into process control in any way and PID, Feed Forward etc therefore do not do much either. However, things could change and then I would have to investigate and find out waht it does.
I can only comment that any temp controllers I have used in the past with this feature have worked pretty well.

Peter, from what I have seen you are possibly the best one here to comment, and you have in the past. There is a vast difference between what you do and a simple temperature controller.

I rather enjoy designing and building generator systems actually rather than process control or motion for that matter. The only process control job I did I did not enjoy because I had to work alongside/fight with Honeywell. They are very good at coming up with a load of you know what when they are in trouble or behind to apportion blame and direct attention in another direction. Much more comfortable with where my expertise lies.
__________________
The Old Pfhaart

  Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2007, 05:30 PM   #5
rdrast
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

rdrast is offline
 
rdrast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: South Carolina Lowcountry
Posts: 3,850
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobB
Which PLC? The latest ones have manual PID and auto tune 2 degree of freedom PID built in.
Auto tune in PLC's (and even 'Speed Loop Autotune' in drives) is mostly another marketing slogon. I've never found any 'auto-tuner' to actually work well, except those in dedicated temperature controllers.

The very phrase generally just makes me nervous.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2007, 01:31 AM   #6
nur
Member
Malaysia

nur is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: terengganu
Posts: 5
Omron PLC

i'm doing using OMRON PLC..did you know.?Can you help me..
  Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2007, 02:20 AM   #7
khirad
Member
Pakistan

khirad is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Karachi
Posts: 14
Yes, I can help you. I have made several programs in Omron usig PID functions. Please contact me directly on khirad@khi.wol.net.pk
  Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2008, 07:14 PM   #8
tel
Member
United Kingdom

tel is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: manchester
Posts: 11
I'm pretty much doing the same thing.

Building a PID using ladder programmming (avoiding using the built in PID) . Can anyone help?

Also I need a PLC simulator that can read input text file. The ones that I found out there only have logics. I need to force in and out real values
  Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2008, 12:34 PM   #9
paraffin power
Member
England

paraffin power is offline
 
paraffin power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Manchester
Posts: 398
Hi tel

1. Why?
2. Which platform?

Pp
__________________
Whatever hits the fan will not be evenly distributed.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2008, 11:52 PM   #10
tel
Member
United Kingdom

tel is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: manchester
Posts: 11
1. As a project, since the PID blocks that comes with the PLC is write protected.

2. using siemens step7.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Siemens or Omron? Gromit LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 30 September 13th, 2008 11:22 AM
information about the siemens, modicon, omron plc siva_maddala LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 June 30th, 2006 09:38 AM
learning PID for Allen-Bradley ... Ron Beaufort LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 August 23rd, 2005 01:40 PM
plc ladder diagram request sweetman1 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 21 May 24th, 2005 06:14 PM
Wanted technical support for Omron PLC (Sysmac: C 60 K) kailashmariappan LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 December 1st, 2004 11:37 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 AM.


.