You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 11th, 2007, 07:46 AM   #1
glpdrumerx
Member
United States

glpdrumerx is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 48
Panelmate Power Pro 1775t Error Codes

I installed a referbished panelmate power pro 1775t in a machine connected to a ab slc-503. i do not have cutler hammer software to talk to the panelmate, someone else loaded the software for me. it is communicating with the plc but is showing error codes at the bottom of the screen. (LOC:1201 ON PLC1 VIA PORT 2 READING N7:0 AND B3:0). the panelmate came without any manuals and i can't seem to find them online. can anyone help!
  Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2007, 07:56 AM   #2
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is offline
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 5,059
LOC 1201 error is defined as: "Communication active, but remote device responded with negative acknowledge (NAK)".

Possible causes are listed as:

Noise on communication line
Wrong parity

Does the Panel Mate indicate any other addresses than N7:0 and B3:0? Are there any addresses that it reads correctly? If it consistently reads some addresses but not others, the problem may be in the way the unreadable addresses are set up in the configuration for the object on the screen that displays them.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2007, 08:35 AM   #3
glpdrumerx
Member
United States

glpdrumerx is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 48
These Are The Only Error Codes. It Is A Long Run 35-40 Feet, But The Panelmate 1500 Was Previously Used And It Worked Fine.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2007, 08:48 AM   #4
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is online now
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 7,960
Two possible causes right off the top of my head:

1. Serial cable or DH485 connection problem, cabling, baud rate, electrical noise.
2. Addresses used in PanelMate config that don't exist in the PLC...not sure if this causes a "1201 error", but I think that it does.

If the comms cabling is your problem, and there is NO communication taking place, then all of your plc references will be filled with the "#" symbol (if i recall correctly...it's been a few years...)

If the addressing of non-existent addresses is the problem, the good addresses should appear and update on the screen, and the addresses called out in the comms alarm bar may change or the alarm bar may go away entirely if you navigate to a page without any addressing problems.

I think this is what Steve is saying, now that I read his reply again...

Last edited by OkiePC; April 11th, 2007 at 08:52 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2007, 08:49 AM   #5
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is offline
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 5,059
Maybe you should call back the person who converted the system for you. The PM1500 series used RJ11 connectors, the PM1700 series uses DB9 connectors. That means somebody had to modify the cable, introducing a possible source of noise. Maybe there are differences in the way the communication driver was set up.

Edit: After reading OkiePC's post I realize I should have asked how you are communicating. I was assuming serial (DF1) communications.

Last edited by Steve Bailey; April 11th, 2007 at 08:55 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2007, 10:27 AM   #6
glpdrumerx
Member
United States

glpdrumerx is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 48
The Cable Is A Db9 Connector
  Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2007, 12:06 PM   #7
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is online now
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 7,960
So, have you lost all communications to the PanelMate or just a handful of addresses?

If none of the PLC values are appearing correctly on the PanelMate then you should look at the physical cabling. You may need to open up the shell on the DB9 connector and make sure it is wired correctly. The wiring will depend on the protocol being used. If the wiring of the cable checks out good, look at the communication settings of the PanelMate and the PLC to make sure they are matched.

If some of the addresses are updating correctly at all times and others are not, I would look at the PLC/SLC program and make sure those addresses actually exist which appear in your alarms.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2007, 03:54 PM   #8
glpdrumerx
Member
United States

glpdrumerx is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 48
Very Good Point About The Addresses, Everything Works Correctly I Just Hate Seeing The Banner Across The Bottom Of The Screen. I Will Look In Slc Program To See If Those Addresses Are Used Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2007, 05:06 PM   #9
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is offline
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 5,059
Quote:
Everything Works Correctly
Does that mean that you can see the value in N7:0 displayed on the Panel Mate?

Is there more than one page to the Panel Mate application? If I remember correctly, once an error message appears, it will not go away until you change to a different page, even if the condition that originally caused the message to appear gets corrected.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2007, 01:33 PM   #10
glpdrumerx
Member
United States

glpdrumerx is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 48
you cannot see the value in N7:0 on the panelmate, but when you go to other pages and do different things you get a couple of different error messages, i will get the guy to come in and check his program for the panel mate against our program for the slc to make sure all address corispond with each other, thanks steve you have helped more than you know.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plc Rack And Power Problems plcnovel LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 May 30th, 2006 03:51 PM
PanelMate Power Pro 1775K Alex5248 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 May 3rd, 2006 03:22 PM
PanelMate Power Pro Software Steve Crotty LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 April 13th, 2005 08:47 PM
SLC 5/04 to PanelMate Power Pro 3000 through AIC+ hhuong LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 December 10th, 2004 08:08 AM
To Latch Or Not To Latch BOWRIDER LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 36 November 6th, 2004 04:30 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 PM.


.