You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 20th, 2007, 11:53 AM   #1
neerajpuranik
Member
India

neerajpuranik is offline
 
neerajpuranik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bharuch, Gujarat
Posts: 87
Question RSLinx Classic Lite vs RSLinx Classic

What is the difference between these two?
I have RSLinx lassic lite, PM02 cable & ML1500 processor. Will I be able to communicate (upload & download ) with the ML1500 processor or I need RSLinx classic for that?
__________________
Quote:
Never hesitate to ask foolish questions, as they can be easily handeled compared to foolish mistakes.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2007, 12:00 PM   #2
SLC_Integrator
Member
United States

SLC_Integrator is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 415
I dont think Lite has the OPC stuff in it.

Classic certainly does.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2007, 12:01 PM   #3
Mickey
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Mickey is offline
 
Mickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Palmdale,Ca
Posts: 9,954
Yes, RSLinx Lite and RSLogix500 is all you need to upload/download and monitor.
There is no such thing as just RSLinx Classic ( many versions). There is see PDF.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf RSLinxMatrix.pdf (48.2 KB, 123 views)
__________________
Mickey

If you want happiness for an hour-take a nap. If you want happiness for a day-go fishing. If you want happiness for a month-getmarried. If you want happiness for a year-inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime-help someone else.
----- Chinese Proverb

Last edited by Mickey; August 20th, 2007 at 12:07 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2007, 12:06 PM   #4
TConnolly
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

TConnolly is offline
 
TConnolly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 6,147
Quote:
Will I be able to communicate (upload & download ) with the ML1500 processor...?
Yes, You will be able to program and communicate with your PLC and upload/download programs and view your data files online using RSLogix and RSlinx lite.


edit: I see I need to type a little faster.
__________________
True craftsmanship is only one more power tool away.

That's the beauty of processors, they don't have emotions they just run code - The PLC Kid.

Last edited by TConnolly; August 20th, 2007 at 12:14 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2007, 12:20 PM   #5
neerajpuranik
Member
India

neerajpuranik is offline
 
neerajpuranik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bharuch, Gujarat
Posts: 87
Thanks Mickey for giving me exactly what I needed.
__________________
Quote:
Never hesitate to ask foolish questions, as they can be easily handeled compared to foolish mistakes.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2007, 01:17 PM   #6
jimbo3123
Member
United States

jimbo3123 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 550
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickey
Yes, RSLinx Lite and RSLogix500 is all you need to upload/download and monitor.
There is no such thing as just RSLinx Classic ( many versions). There is see PDF.
There is a such thing as RSLinx Classic. That's what A-B now calls all of the many versions of the "regular" (not RSLinx Enterprise) RSLinx.
The document that you posted was from 2005, before they made the naming change.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2007, 01:22 PM   #7
SLC_Integrator
Member
United States

SLC_Integrator is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 415
I was about to post the same thing!

They also changed Linx for RSView to Linx Enterprise.

So now you have Linx Classic OEM, Classic Pro etc.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2007, 02:17 PM   #8
Mickey
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Mickey is offline
 
Mickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Palmdale,Ca
Posts: 9,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbo3123
There is a such thing as RSLinx Classic. That's what A-B now calls all of the many versions of the "regular" (not RSLinx Enterprise) RSLinx.
The document that you posted was from 2005, before they made the naming change.
I'll say it again "there is no such thing as "JUST RSLinx Classic"
There is as ( as SLC_Integrator said) RSlinx Classic Lite, RSLinx Classic OEM, RSLinx Classic Pro, RSLinx Classic Gateway, RSlinx Classic Single Node, RSlinx Classic SDK etc.
Its important to know what version. Whenever someone ask "can I do this and that with RSLinx Classic?", the response is always "what version do you have?".
__________________
Mickey

If you want happiness for an hour-take a nap. If you want happiness for a day-go fishing. If you want happiness for a month-getmarried. If you want happiness for a year-inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime-help someone else.
----- Chinese Proverb

Last edited by Mickey; August 20th, 2007 at 02:20 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2007, 02:37 PM   #9
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 5,153
A little OT but....

I don't think there is any thing different at all, if you compare the size of the file (or CD) with Lite, PRO or OEM they are all the same, when you load the key that determines what feature(s) are enabled. If you don't load a key at all it defaults to lite.

So no difference but the key is different

Gateway and others may not be the same
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2007, 03:07 AM   #10
neerajpuranik
Member
India

neerajpuranik is offline
 
neerajpuranik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bharuch, Gujarat
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by SLC_Integrator
I dont think Lite has the OPC stuff in it.

Classic certainly does.
Dear SLC_Integrator,
I hope you will pardon my ignorance. Pls tell me in detail what does this OPC stuff means. Is it a part of SCADA like trending, graph etc or something else. If there is a manual pls give me the link too.
Thanks,
Neeraj
__________________
Quote:
Never hesitate to ask foolish questions, as they can be easily handeled compared to foolish mistakes.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2007, 06:31 AM   #11
curlyandshemp
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

curlyandshemp is offline
 
curlyandshemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,870
I recall at one time RSLinx Lite (linx without the activation )would not allow DH+ communications via a 1784-PKTX(D) card. Is this still the case?
__________________
Work to Ride,
Then Ride to Work

I would rather have a bottle in front of me..
than have a frontal lobotomy
  Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2007, 07:02 AM   #12
croakus
Member
United States

croakus is offline
 
croakus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 97
I don't believe so...

I've got a desktop pc being used by maint. that has had a pktxd card in it for a few years. One channel is set for DH+ and the other is RS-485.

Mike
  Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2007, 08:58 AM   #13
jedft
Member
United States

jedft is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 141
Neeraj, OPC allows you to do things like display/modify values in addresses in your PLC using applications such as Excel... or even do custom HMI with VB or the like. So yes, it is "part of" SCADA. You must have some sort of OPC server to do this with the right driver for the PLC you are using. AB provides one with RSLinx. Go here for more info...

http://www.opcfoundation.org
__________________
Arrrrr...It's drivin' me nuts!
  Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2007, 09:08 AM   #14
SLC_Integrator
Member
United States

SLC_Integrator is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedft
Neeraj, OPC allows you to do things like display/modify values in addresses in your PLC using applications such as Excel... or even do custom HMI with VB or the like. So yes, it is "part of" SCADA. You must have some sort of OPC server to do this with the right driver for the PLC you are using. AB provides one with RSLinx. Go here for more info...

http://www.opcfoundation.org
What he said

Note: There is actually 3 subsets in OPC now, OPC-DA (data aquisition) OPC-AE (Alarms & Events) and OPC-HDA (Historical Data Aquisition)
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RSLINX lite unrecognized device MGuenette LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 May 1st, 2007 04:20 PM
RSLinx Classic Lite..... XtremeIN LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 November 28th, 2006 08:29 AM
RSLinx pro and RSLinx lite, what is the difference? shaarawi1984 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 September 20th, 2006 07:45 AM
PV 600 Plus - Cockpit Trouble glaw LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 24 June 30th, 2006 10:53 AM
RSLinx Classic 2.5 quit connecting moltra LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 June 14th, 2006 01:00 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26 PM.


.