You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread September 27th, 2007, 08:13 AM   #1
wfo
Member
United States

wfo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Idaho
Posts: 2
Barcode to Excel to PLC

I am trying to get a digital output based on a barcode read. The scan talks to an IBM AS400 where it is verified as good or bad, if it is a bad scan the AS400 throws a 1 in an excel cell on a PC. I need to get an output to sound an alarm when that happens. I have a Direct Logic 05 PLC with Ethernet, and KEPDirect for PLC. When I get this to work they will be speread out all over the plant making an expensive application like Wonderware unreasonable. I have also tried Wago Field Bus but I dont write VB or C# so I can't make it work either. I would greatly appreciate any advice.
  Reply With Quote
Unread September 27th, 2007, 02:41 PM   #2
Archie
Member
United States

Archie is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Orangeburg, SC
Posts: 1,912
Are you wanting the PC to supply a digital signal to the PLC?


I can possibly give you a very quick VB example to turn on a signal line of a parallel port which can then be fed to a solid state relay. Then use the output of the relay to feed a signal ti the PLC.

This would be a very cheap way to do it, but only if your PC has a parallel port.
  Reply With Quote
Unread September 27th, 2007, 03:00 PM   #3
wfo
Member
United States

wfo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Idaho
Posts: 2
Archie, I am Very interested in your solution. I do have Parelell ports.
  Reply With Quote
Unread September 27th, 2007, 03:38 PM   #4
surferb
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

surferb is offline
 
surferb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,762
That's a great "down and dirty" approach! I used a cheap USB controller connected to relay boards for a similar application - (computer controlled automated bar as a fun project).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archie
Are you wanting the PC to supply a digital signal to the PLC?

I can possibly give you a very quick VB example to turn on a signal line of a parallel port which can then be fed to a solid state relay. Then use the output of the relay to feed a signal ti the PLC.

This would be a very cheap way to do it, but only if your PC has a parallel port.
__________________
Nathan Boeger, CISSP-ISSAP, CCVP/CCNA, MCSE, VCP
"Design Simplicity Cures Engineered Complexity"
Comment on Not another industrial software Blog
Ignition by Inductive Automation, rethinking SCADA for modern manufacturing 2 minute video
  Reply With Quote
Unread September 27th, 2007, 04:03 PM   #5
Archie
Member
United States

Archie is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Orangeburg, SC
Posts: 1,912
wfo

I have attached an example excel file to do the job.

There is another file named inpout32.dll that needs to be copied to the directory :

C:\Windows\system32

This is the driver that allows excel to access the parallel port hardware.

If you change cell A2's value to a 1, then output comes on, otherwise it goes off.

In Excel, if you go to Tools->Macro->Visual Basic Editor you will see the code. You may need to edit the address of the parallel port. It is explained in the comments on the code.

I will post a video and details of a board I use that gives relay outputs.
Attached Files
File Type: zip ExcelToParallel.zip (22.2 KB, 201 views)
  Reply With Quote
Unread September 27th, 2007, 04:22 PM   #6
Archie
Member
United States

Archie is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Orangeburg, SC
Posts: 1,912
Video of it in action

Ok, here is a link to a video to show the above attached files in action:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mWQU5atBgGY


The following link is the board I used:

http://www.electronics123.com/s.nl/it.A/id.1712/.f

I also got a cable part # BB040 for $5

It requires a 12V power supply. I ordered part # BB151, but found out that it does not supply enough current to keep all 8 relays energized for more that 10 seconds before going into shutdown.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mitsubishi problem gunther LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 June 17th, 2006 09:01 AM
PLC > Database > Excel (via DDE) Unregistered LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 May 6th, 2005 09:45 AM
PLC to Excel communications AJZ LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 April 28th, 2005 10:32 AM
Logging Process Data From PLC In Excel makeplc LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 April 28th, 2005 09:41 AM
PLC with barcode reader cute LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 February 23rd, 2004 10:38 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33 PM.


.